RSS

Indian Potato and Pea Soup

12 Apr

Hello everyone,

Here is a recipe that I made for the Spud Fest a several years ago. They haven’t had the festival for the last 3 years and I don’t know why. I wish they would bring it back. The last year they had the festival, I won Best in Show for my Chocolate Idaho Potato cake. It had potatoes in the cake plus the frosting. When I find it I’ll post it here. I know I still need to post the Zabaglione cream that we made at the Italian restaurant I worked at. I’ll make it this weekend just to be sure I remembered the right way to make it. I have 3 cakes to make this week 2 for the mentally challenged adults and 1 for the VA home. I’m not sure what I’ll be baking yet for them. I’m waiting for the place that has the mentally challenged adults to call me back. I know what the vet want’s, he likes cat and went to the University of Colorado. I don’t know yet which one I make or both I don’t know yet… :)

Here’s the recipe:

Indian Potato and Pea Soup

2 tblsp. olive oil

2 cups peeled and diced potatoes

1 large onion, chopped

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp. graram masala

1 tsp. coriander

1 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes, crushed

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. black pepper

4 cups vegetable broth or stock

1 cup frozen peas

4 tblsp. sour cream or plain yogurt

Chopped fresh cilantro, to garnish

Heat oil in a large saucepan and add the diced potatoes, onion, and garlic. Saute gently for about 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Add the salt, pepper and other spices and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in the vegetable stock and bring to boil. Reduce the heat cover the pan and simmer for 20 minutes until potatoes are tender. Add the peas and cook for a further 5 minutes. Stir in the sour cream. Garnish with the chopped fresh cilantro.

I hope everything is going well with everyone, I’m still feeling a bit down in the dumps. I have been sick all weekend, I had taken some medicine for my stomach but it hasn’t helped.  I have an appt with my Dr. tomorrow,  maybe she can figure out what’s bothering me still…  My family problems have only gotten worse, I really don’t know what to do about it other than wait it out and see what happens. My mom’s husband removed his FB page from my mom’s entire side of the family including his own daughter. I don’t know why he did that, it’s not fair to punish the rest of the family just because my mom and I are not getting along. This isn’t the first time he’s taken thing’s to extreme like this. Maybe we should just stay away for a while or longer, I don’t know. I just don’t know what to do.. I guess I’m tired of the one-sided relationship I have with them, my mom will never admit to it either. I’m the one that’s always in the wrong and say I’m sorry even if I didn’t do nothing wrong. I don’t know how my dad put up with this for 25 years. He would say he was sorry no matter what the problem was and even if he didn’t do anything wrong. I can still remember  a fight they had when I was 13, she threw a bowl at my dad and yelled I want a divorce and he said well you bitch. They then went outside and kept fighting and my mom took off in the car like she always did.  I remember us kids crying and not knowing what to do. I called my grandparent’s and they were no help. There comment was we don’t get involved in family stuff??? I think they were  just cowards and didn’t want t lift a finger to help, they have always been that way… Well enough of my venting for now…

I hope your all doing better than I am now….

Amanda

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 12, 2010 in Soups

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

