RSS

Blueberry Cake and the cake is done yeaaa!!!

25 Jan

Hello All,

 I got my vet cake done today,it turned out the way I wanted it to. Just like I described it yesterday. I don’t know if I’ll deliver it tomorrow or have Ray do it. I bent over this morning to get a lid out of the cupboard and my back went out!! I’m in major pain right now, have taken 4 pain pills today and rubbed tons of icy hot on, it’s hardly touching it!! May have to call my Dr. tomorrow, and ask if she’ll prescribe some PT for me, it’s the only thing that helps. I hope she doesn’t want to see me!!! May have to go in anyway…

We didn’t make it to church today, we haven’t been their for 3 weeks. You would think someone from there would have called us by now and see if were ok??? I left a message on there website asking for prayer on Friday and haven’t heard a word. Can you believe it??? What is this world coming to when the church you attend doesn’t even respond when you ask for help??? We have been going there for almost 2 years now, we have made some friends, at least I thought they were friends. I guess I’m disappointed with all of them. We have been going to a what they call is a Life Group, and the people are nice. One lady keeps trying to get me to drink her Monavie stuff, I keep polightly telling her no. Not only is it really expensive, but I don’t believe it miracle food cures or medical for that matter.

 I need to tell her this story, I worked as a nurse’s aide for 14 years, when I was 19 or 20 I had a client named Myrle.  Nicest client I have ever had hands down, I grew a lot as a Christian while working with him, he always had the Christian radio station on. I listened to Chuck Swindoll, Larry Burkett, Jonny Erikson Tada, ect… He also sold some vitamin products, I can’t remember what the company is called they sold all kinds of stuff  anyways…. He was always trying to get me to buy the stuff, I kept telling him polightly no I just couldn’t afford it. After awhile he stopped asking, but what I alway’s took note of was that he spent  almost$100 a month on the stuff!!! He was on Medicaid and did get about $30 a month on food stamps. By the time he paid for all the vitamins, rent, a couple of credit card bills, he would only have about $20 for the rest of the month!!! If he would have only stopped paying for all those vitamins he would have had enough to get through the month. I would bring him extra food sometimes, and help him buy food that was on sale. This is what I need to tell the church lady, I know she thinks the world of the stuff she sells and thinks it will cure me. I know it won’t, I only believe that my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ can cure me!!! Amen!!! He has healed me before, when I was 8 years healed my appendix before they burst, He has healed me PTSD, and had taken away a lot of anger I had with people, I’m work in progress!!! 🙂

Ok I promised some cake recipes so here is one that I made up for a contest I hope you all enjoy it!!! I won 3rd place in the Western Idaho Fair contest for this cake, plus $75 bucks yahoooo!!!!

Blueberry Cake:

 For Cake:

2 egg whites

½-cup granulated sugar

2 ¼ cups cake flour

1 cup granulated sugar

3 tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. salt

1 ½ cups sour cream

1/3 cup butter melted and cooled

2 egg yolks

2 tsp. vanilla

1-cup fresh or frozen blueberries, if  blueberries are frozen do not thaw before folding into batter.

1 tbl. cake flour

For Filling:

1-cup blueberries

2/3 cup sugar

2 tbl. lemon juice

4 tbl. cornstarch

For Frosting :

1 (8 oz.) pkg cream cheese, softened

½ cup butter, (1 stick), softened

1 tbl. lemon juice

1 tsp. vanilla

4 cups powdered sugar, sifted

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

To make cake: Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and lightly flour 2, 9-inch round cake pans. Beat egg whites in medium bowl with electric mixture on high-speed until foamy. Beat in ½ cup sugar, 2 tbl. at a time, until stiff peaks form; set aside.

Mix 2 ½ cups cake flour, 1-cup sugar, the baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl. Beat in sour cream, butter, egg yolks, and vanilla on medium speed for 2 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally.  Fold egg whites into batter.  Mix the 1 tbl. flour with the blueberries, fold into batter.  Pour into prepared pans and bake for 30-35 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to a wire rack.  Cool completely.

For filling: Cook all ingredients in a 2-quart saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly, until thickened.  Cool completely.

For Frosting:  Beat all ingredients together until smooth.

To assemble cake: Cut cake layers in half, and fill layers with frosting, then add some blueberry filling.  Frost top and sides with frosting, spoon leftover blueberry filling around edges of cake.  Decorate with fresh blueberries.

Until tomorrow 🙂 Amanda

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 25, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
