RSS

Chocolate Orange Cake and My Faith is restored…

26 Jan

Hello everyone,

My faith has been refreshed and renewed today! Yesterday I wrote about the church we attended and the email I sent on Friday.  I did hear from many people today, one person our zone pastor even came to visit us, which really surprised me. I guess I need to be more patient with people and know that other people have lives to live.  I wish I could apply this to my brother, he is ignoring me right now. We don’t get along at all, were as different as night and day. He doesn’t like me cause I’m not afraid to tell him what I think. I have tried to explain that the steroids they have me on have made me very emotional and very sensitive. I don’t know after all the treatments they are giving me whether they will work. What am I facing after the treatments are done? Is there anything else they can do for me? Will I just get worse and slowly die??? I know this might sound morbid to some people but this is what I’m facing right now. How do you get someone like my brother to understand this? All he see’s or wants to see are his own problems, he will get past his and can live on, but me who knows for sure???  

 I  want to make my nephew’s Birthday cake in Feb. I hope my brother doesn’t give me a hard time with it. (For my niece’s birthday we had a misunderstanding and he never got past it.) I did email his ex-wife about it and she said my nephew is looking forward to me making his cake. He wants a Transformer cake.  He’s so cute about it he asked every time I see him, which hasn’t been to often lately, Ray and have been sick for 3 weeks, me for 2 of them!!! 

I do have a cake to make for Friday, it’s another vet cake. He love computers and chocolate, I have the Wilton computer cake pan. I’m going to have to go the garage and did it out. Can you believe it’s been 5-6 years since I used it??? How sad is that???! This is why I love working with Angel Cakes I can use many of the different cake pans I have. I have about 150 of them. You may ask where do I store them all? Well I have a lot of them hanging in my kitchen, the rest are in boxes in the garage. Maybe someday I’ll have enough wall space to display them all!!! Sigh!!!

 Here’s another recipe for you all, hope you like it!!! Please leave me feedback and comments, I look forward to hearing from people!!!

Chocolate Orange Cake

For the cake:

2 1/2 cups cake flour

3/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup Baking Cocoa

1-cup butter, (2 sticks) at room temperature

1 1/3 cups granulated sugar

2 tsp. orange zest

1 tsp. orange extract

4 eggs, at room temperature

1 cup sour cream

1/4 cup undiluted & thawed, frozen orange juice concentrate

For the Icing:

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp. orange extract

6 tsp. milk

2 tblsp. baking cocoa

Candy orange slices to decorate

Position a rack in the middle of an oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Grease and flour a 12-cup bundt pan. Set aside.

In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and baking cocoa. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer set on medium-high speed, beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy and ivory colored, about 2 minutes. Beat in the orange zest and orange extract. add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Reduce the speed to low and dividing the flour mixture into 3 batches, beat the flour mixture into the butter mixture alternately with the sour cream and orange juice concentrate, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 45 minutes. Transfer to racks and let cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Invert onto the cake plate, and let cool completely. Drizzle with icing and decorate with candy oranges if desired.

For the icing: 

Cream all icing ingredients together until smooth, and drizzle over cake.     

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
