RSS

Cheesy Bread and another Day!!!

27 Jan

I had a class tonight at the U of I, it was about seafood. Learned alot and the class was very full. I have one more class on the 9th , hopefully they will have some recipes I can share with ya all. At the U of I they like us to pass on the information that we get in class, so we’ll see. Ray went to work today he’s feeling alot better, I picked him up after he got off and we decided to find a place to eat. We went to this tiny hole in the wall chinese place. They had really good food there, I want to get the recipe of the egg flower soup that I had, it was great? I might have it some where? I have a Chinese cookbook by Irene Kuo maybe it’s in there. James A. Beard says it the best cookbook he has found for Chinese cooking, so I’m going to give it a try. I found this book at a yard sale sometime ago. If I have the recipe in it I’ll make it and let you all know how it turned out.

I’m going to bake the cake for the vet tomarrow, I’m looking forward to baking again!!! Angel Cakes posted a cake for a 3 year old.  I really want to take it she like Care Bears, but I have 2 cake within 2 days, plus my fish class, and my breathing treament. I hadn’t better take it, we’ll see if someone else will pick it up. Ray wouldn’t be to happy with me if I take on to much anyway. We’ll see what happens I guess…. Sigh…. 

I thought I’d post one of my bread recipes, it’s a little differnt… I hope you all enjoy it!!!  🙂  Amanda

Cheesy Bread

2 1/2 cups flour  

2 tbsp. sugar

1 tsp. salt

2 pkgs. Active Dry Yeast

1 ¼ cups buttermilk

¼ cup butter

1 large egg

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 tbsp. sesame seeds

Filling:

¼ cup butter, softened

½ tsp. Italian seasoning

½ tsp. granulated garlic

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Combine filling ingredients in a bowl, and mix well; set aside.

In large bowl combine 1-½ cups flour, sugar, salt, and dry yeast; mix well.  In a saucepan, heat buttermilk and butter until warm (110 to 120 degrees); add with egg to flour mixture.  Blend until moistened; beat for 2-3 minutes.  Gradually stir in remaining flour to make a stiff batter, fold in cheddar cheese.  Grease a 10-12 cup bundt pan; sprinkle with sesame seeds.  Put half of batter into pan; spread with filling.  Top with remaining batter.  If filling is not entirely covered, batter will cover during rising. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until bread tests done (sounds hollow when tapped).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2010 in Breads

 

Leave a Reply

 
