RSS

BANANAS FOSTER FUDGE CAKE and new insite???

28 Jan

Helle everyone,

It’s sunny and cool outside as I write this. I’m hearing our dog Casper snoring like a freight train and my cat Minnie is sitting on the arm of my chair, she must have missed me? Even though I hardly go out anywhere!! lol…I baked my cake for the vet yesterday, and I decided to bake the Care Bears cake for the little foster child. I’m baking a 3-D Care Bear cake, it’s the first time for me to use that cake pan I bought it on E-Bay some time ago. I’m so excited about it!!! I changed an appt. so I would have more time for the cakes. My husband won’t be to happy with me, but it’s already done now. When we sign up for a cake it’s really hard to find a someone else to bake the cake if we can’t bake it. Seems like it’s has to be an emergency before someone else will help… I know a lot of bakers have kids and jobs to take care of so I can understand sometimes. I don’t have either one, I can’t have kids and I can’t work because of my disease. The only place I know I could find work would be with home health, but my Dr. say’s I’m suppose to stay away from sick people. That’s easier said than done!!!  

I didn’t feel like posting yesterday, sadly it was bad day. Got into it with my mother, about decorating Valentines cookies with my niece’s and nephew. She was convinced she told me the day they were doing it, but she hadn’t. We had only talked about setting up a day. I know this sounds like a stupid thing to be upset about, but it’s more than that. My whole life it’s always been about ,this is what were doing, when were doing it, and if you don’t like it that’s tough!!! Then she started the guilt trip thing with me again, I’ve spent this amount of money and time buying thing’s for this and I’m thinking so what!!! I didn’t ask you to do all that anyway!!! She makes me feel like I’m obligated to participate, with something I wasn’t to thrilled about in the first place. Please don’t get me wrong I love to spend time with them, but would like it to be when I want to not when they want to, does that sound right??? I hope so… I feel like they are ashamed to be seen with us in public, you see my husband and I are what the world thinks are obese people. I feel like they only what to see us on their terms and at there house’s. We rarely get invited to do anything, only on holiday’s. I really feel like my brother is embarrassed to even be around us, and it’s starting to rub off on his kids. His oldest is 11 going 18 and has as much said point-blank this very thing I’m talking about. It’s not that we fart or burp in public we try to dress nice and be considerate of other people.  When I asked about what my brother thought about me spending time with the kids, I was told I need to just let him be and forget about him. I feel like my mother is holding something back from me, about my brother, and it’s bothering me. Then she did something that really upset me, she called my husband at work. I hate it when they call him at work, cause then he’s calls me, and doesn’t understand what’s going on, and then he get’s all upset. When he got home yesterday I tried to talk to him about it and he just got mad at me, and say’s why do you always let what they do bother you so much. Here’s the problem he’s get frustrated cause he want’s me to talk about how I’m feeling about thing’s, but when I try he just get mad and frustrated and say’s  I let what they do bother me to much. He’s say’s he’s used to his family being this way, but mine has always been this way and I don’t want it to be. We just think to differently I guess, my husband is 15 years older than me and we just don’t think the same at all.

Well enough venting for now, hopefully this will all get solved with time. I need to get some thing’s done, I’ll write more later, maybe???

In the meantime here’s another recipe for you to enjoy!!!

BANANAS FOSTER FUDGE CAKE

Banana Filling:

½ cup packed light brown sugar

3 tbl. butter

1-½ cups finely chopped firm banana’s (about 2 large)

1 tsp. dark rum

¼ tsp. cinnamon

Cake:

2-2/3 cups cake flour

2 tsp. baking soda

½ tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. salt

2 cups boiling water

1-cup Baking Cocoa

2 cups granulated sugar

1-cup butter, (2 sticks) softened

4 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting:

1 (8 oz.) pkg. Cream cheese softened

 ½ cup butter (1 stick), softened

4 cups powdered sugar

½ cup Baking Cocoa

1 tsp. vanilla

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

To make filling:

In a medium microwave-safe bowl, combine brown sugar and butter. Microwave, uncovered, on high for 1 minute. Add chopped bananas, rum, and cinnamon; stir. Microwave an additional 4 minutes, stirring once. Cool completely

To make Cake:

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and lightly flour 3 round, 8-inch cake pans; set aside.

Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; set aside. Beat water with cocoa in a small bowl with a wire whisk until smooth; set aside. Beat sugar and butter in a medium bowl with an electric mixer, scraping bowl occasionally, until fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition until smooth. Beat in vanilla extract. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the cocoa mixture, beating after each addition until smooth. Batter will be runny, pour into pans. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in the pan; remove from pans to a wire rack. Cool completely. Spread layers with banana filling and on top of cake after frosting, frost top and sides with frosting.  Decorate with dried banana chips.

For Frosting:

Beat all ingredients together until smooth.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 28, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
