RSS

BEEF CHILI WITH ANCHO CHILIES, BLACK BEANS, & CHOCOLATE

29 Jan

I’m sorry I have sounded well the word for it would be B***. I promise from now on this blog will only be about Angel Cakes and I will be posting recipes, and canning, food safety ect… I guess I needed to get some thing’s out of my system. The week I started this blog I had been so sick and so had my husband. Sleep depravation and medication can do really wierds thing’s to your body and mind. I’m finishing up the vet cake tonight, my husband stopped at the store for me to get the candy I needed. Thank you Ray for that!!!

Here’s another recipe from my file for anyone to try , which I hope you all do. Please leave me feedback, I would love to here from people!!!

I love this chili, and it makes alot!!!

BEEF CHILI WITH ANCHO CHILIES, BLACK BEANS, & CHOCOLATE

  BY TLYER FLORENCE and I made some changes, here and there…

2 ancho chilies, seeded and hand torn into pieces

3 pounds beef shoulder, cut into large cubes, (I used a regular 4lb beef roast) 

salt and black pepper

2 large onions, diced

10 garlic cloves, halved

3 canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, chopped

2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and chopped

2 tblsp. ground coriander

1 tblsp. ground cumin

1 tblsp. sweet paprika

1 tblsp. dried oregano

¼ tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. sugar

2 tblsp. light brown sugar

6 (14.5oz.) cans whole tomatoes

1 (8oz.) can tomato paste

2 (15 1/2oz.) cans black beans, drained

1oz-unsweetened chocolate, chopped

3 cups shredded white cheddar cheese, for topping

This is word for word from Tyler’s cookbook, I take no credit for it.

Making chili is nothing more than mounting layers and letting them all simmer together. Get in the habit of tasting recipes in stages, this way if something is not quite right, adjustments can be made. (I added more tomatoes to tame the heat, his recipe called for only 1 can of tomatoes, but it was to hot!)

Toast the ancho chile pieces over low heat in a dry skillet until fragrant, shaking the pan so they don’t scorch. Put the chilies in a mini food processor and pulse to a powder. This is homemade chili powder will add a smoky depth to the chili. Season the beef all over with salt and pepper and then put in a large soup pot. Add enough water to cover by 1-inch, about 3-quarts, and place over medium heat. Bring to a boil and skim off any foam that rises to the surface. Mix in the onions, garlic, chipotles, and jalapeno. Stir in the coriander, cumin, paprika, oregano, cinnamon, sugars, and the powdered ancho chilies. Into a bowl pour in the tomatoes and hand crush them, pour into the pot and the canned tomato paste. Simmer on medium low heat (without the lid) until meat is fork tender and comes apart with no resistance, about 2 hours. As it cooks down, add more water if needed. When done shred the meat with a fork. Add the beans and taste and adjust seasoning. Serve with cheese and crackers

I did make some changes here and there….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 29, 2010 in Soups

 

Leave a Reply

 
