RSS

Chicken Devin and a Cake to Bake this Weekend? I must be crazy!!!

30 Jan

Hello everyone,

Yes, I do have a cake to bake this weekend, it’s for a nursing home resident. I’ve been looking all afternoon through my Wilton books for inspiration. I am so tired of making the same round 8-9-inch cake!!! I found a really nice cake in Wilton’s 1984 Yearbook. It’s a square cake with small roses, drop flowers, and fleur-de-lis borders on it. I hope I can make it look like the picture!  Wish me luck!!!

I have been wanting to bake sourdough bread for a while, so a couple of days ago I made some starter. I love sourdough bread, I still remember my grandma Shirley baking sourdough bread when I was a kid.  She made the best bread ever!!! She always had some starter working on the counter or in the refrigerator. She made bread, pancakes and biscuits with it all the time. The recipe is from my old standby the Betty Crocker cookbook, I have always had good results from that cookbook. It’s one of my favorite’s!

 I watched Julia and Julie again for the 4th time tonight, there wasn’t anything else on T.V.  I really want Julia’s French cookbook. Can you believe with all my cookbooks that I don’t have that one??? I have (Baking with Julia), but that’s all. The other French cookbooks I have is the (The French Laundry by Thomas Keller) and (Cooking Provence by Antoine Bouterin). I’m going to try some recipes from the Cooking Provence book next week and see how they turn out. I haven’t decided what yet???

I haven’t felt very well today, upset stomach all day… 😦  Don’t know if it was something I ate or what.

I hope you all have a great night!!! Here’s another recipe for you all to try, let me know what you think!!! PLEASE I need feedback!!!!

Chicken Devin

1, 4lb. pound chicken cooked, deboned, and skinned.

1, 16oz. bag frozen chopped broccoli, cooked and drained.

SAUCE:

1 ½ cups evaporated milk

2 T. lemon juice

2/3 cup mayonnaise

2 cups mild cheddar cheese, shredded

TOPPING:

Two, slices bread

2 T. butter

Heat oven to 350 degrees, grease a 9×13 casserole dish. In food processor add bread and the 2 T. butter, pulse to combine to a fine crumb. Set aside. In a large bowl combine chicken and broccoli. In separate bowl mix together sauce ingredients and pour over chicken and broccoli. Mix to combine. Pour into casserole pan and top with topping.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until topping is brown and sauce is bubbling. Serves 12

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 30, 2010 in Casseroles

 

Leave a Reply

 
