RSS

Lemon Swirl Rolls and it’s Snowing Here!!!

31 Jan

Hello everyone!

We have snow today yeaaa!!! NOT!!! I hate snow, it’s wet and mushy. Everytime it snow’s here people forget how to drive and we have a lot of wrecks.  It’s other people around here you really have to watch for!!! I can’t tell you how many near misses we have had while out driving in this. I learned to drive in an area where there’s lots of snow, you think I would love it, but I don’t!!! I loved living in Arizona, no snow there in most area’s anyway..  I worked for an Italian restaurant when I was 16 there, and I loved it. I learned a lot from the sweetest little mexican lady there. I learned my knife skills from her, plus many other thing’s, she was the head prep chef there. We made a version of Zabaglione, it’s vanilla pudding with Marsala wine. We would put in wine glasses on top of sweetened strawberries, it’s wonderful. I made it when we moved back up here to snow country, haven’t made it for a while. I’ll have to see if I can remember how to make it again. When I do I’ll post it here, it was really easy to make.

I got a lot done on my cake for Monday. I made 30 roses with tip 103,  and many drop flowers with tip 223. I baked a red velvet cake and made my buttercream icing. So all I’ll have to do tomorrow is put it together or I should say later tonight, since it’s 2am right now!!! 

I haven’t made the egg drop soup yet, that I talked about. I found a version that’s actually a French version that I would like to make. It looks simple, we’ll see! 

My back has been hurting a lot lately, the Dr. told me I have what’s called degenerative back disease I think that’s how it’s spelled? Anyway’s I don’t know, she said if I have to have surgery I would have to go back on a higher dose of steroids, I hope not!!! I’m praying the Lord will heal me from all this!

 Well I need to go to bed now and see if I can get some sleep, goodnight all!!!   

Here’s another one of my recipes for you all…

Lemon Swirl Rolls

Dough:

7 to 7-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 envelope Rapid Rise yeast

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1-1/2 tsp. salt

1-1/2 cups soured milk,  just until it smells sour, (NOT WITH CHUNKS IN IT, THROW THAT OUT)! I let whole milk go sour & use it in bread and biscuits, it add’s better flavor.

2/3 cup unsalted butter

1 cup mashed potatoes, prepared without milk and butter (prepared instant mashed potatoes may be used also)

2 eggs

(¼ cup unsalted butter, for spreading on the rolled out dough before lemon filling.)

Filling:

1 cup granulated sugar

2 tbl. cornstarch

1 tbl. lemon zest

1/3 cup lemon juice

1/3 cup water

6 egg yolks beaten

¼ cup unsalted butter

Frosting:

1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened

½ cup unsalted butter, softened

1 tsp. lemon juice

2-1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp. lemon zest

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

To Make Dough:

Mix 2 cups flour, yeast, sugar, and salt in a large bowl. Combine milk, 2/3 cup of butter, and mashed potatoes and heat to 120 to 130 degrees. Add to flour mixture; add eggs. Beat on low-speed with an electric mixer for 3 minutes until smooth. Gradually add more flour until dough is sticky. Knead dough on floured surface until smooth, 8-10 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to coat. Cover and refrigerate for 2-24 hours.

To Make Filling:

Combine sugar and cornstarch in a 2-quart saucepan. Stir in lemon zest, lemon juice, and water. Cook and stir over medium heat until slightly thickened and bubbly. Beat egg yolks in a small bowl. Gradually stir half the lemon mixture into eggs; return the egg yolk mixture to the saucepan. Cook and stir over medium heat until mixture comes to a boil; allow to boil to 2 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in butter. Cover surface of the lemon filling with plastic wrap. Chill for at least 1 hour; filling will keep up to one week.

To Assemble Rolls:

Gently press chilled dough down; divide in half. Roll one half into a 12×9-inch rectangle. Spread with 2 tbl. butter and half the lemon filling. Roll up jelly roll style and cut into 1-inch slices. Place cut side down in a greased 13×9-inch pan. Cover. Repeat with remaining dough. Let rise until doubled, 1-1/2 to 2 hours. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-18 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and remove from pan. Cool an additional 20 minutes. Frost with lemon cream cheese frosting.

To Make Frosting:

Beat cream cheese, butter popcorn salt, and lemon juice in a mixing bowl until creamy, 2-3 minutes. Add powder sugar gradually until frosting is light and fluffy. Stir in lemon zest. Refrigerate icing if not using immediately.

Prep Time: 50 minutes

Chill Time: 2 to 24 hours

Rise Time: 1 ½  to 2 hours

Bake Time: 15 to 18 minutes

Cool Time: 25 minutes

Makes: 24 rolls

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2010 in Breads

 

Leave a Reply

 
