RSS

ONION-HERB ROLLS & I created a monster!

02 Feb

Yes, I created a monster and that means it’s about my cat Minnie. Every night she bird dogs me until I give her, her nightly treats. There just these little crunchy thing’s from Frisky’s called party mix, she won’t eat any other kind of treat. Crazy isn’t it??? Here’s a picture of her waiting to be fed…

I delivered the cake to the nursing home today, and wow is all I can say. The lady at the desk said it was one of the most beautiful cake they have had come though there. I was very flattered by that. I know a lot of the other Angel Bakers have made beautiful cakes also, I didn’t k now what to say.  I don’t have anymore cakes to deliver this week. Next week I have 3 to deliver, one to the VA home, one to a foster child, the last one to a mentally challenged adult. I really love to deliver to the place that we take the cakes to for the mentally challenged adults. I get to meet the person most of the time. The last one I delivered there, was for a young lady who loved teddy bears. When she saw the cake she hugged it! I was happy to see she loved the cake, I also cringed a little she smashed the icing into the plastic and on herself. If you’re a cake decorator you how we are all perfectionist and anal most of the time. I loved her reaction though, that’s why I love to bake for Angel Cakes!!! One other time I delivered a cake there was for a young man you loved guitars, I made him an electric guitar. When I got there he had his head kinda hung down and had a shy smile on his face, and he grabbed my hand and shook it. Later I heard that he talked about the cake all day and how much he loved it. Here’s a picture of it, and a couple other cakes I have made for Angel Cakes…

Here’s another recipe for you all to try, I need to get to bed. We have a funeral to go tomorrow it’s a 3 hour drive from here…

ONION-HERB ROLLS

2/3 cup olive oil

1 large onion, finely chopped

4 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 tsp. ground sage

1 tbl. Dried parsley

1 tsp. basil

1 tsp. oregano

2 cups warm water (120 degrees F.)

2 tbl. Active dry yeast

6 tbl. Wheat germ

1 tbl. Salt

1 tsp. ground black pepper

About 6 cups bread flour

In a heavy frying pan over medium heat, warm the olive oil. Add the onion and garlic and sauté, stirring until tender, about 8 minutes. Stir in the herbs and sauté until the flavors have blended, about 2 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool.

Pour the warm water into a very large bowl. Sprinkle the yeast over the top and let stand until dissolved, about 1 minute. Stir in the wheat germ, salt and pepper, and then mix in the onion mixture. Using a wooden spoon gradually beat in the 5 cups flour to make semi soft dough.

Transfer the dough to floured work surface and knead, adding flour as needed to prevent sticking, until just smooth and elastic, about 5 minutes. Spray a large clean bowl with cooking spray. Gather the dough into a ball, place in the bowl and turn to coat with the cooking spray. Spray a sheet of plastic wrap, and cover the bowl, let rise until doubled in bulk about 1 hour.

Punch down dough and divide into 24 equal portions. Spray 2 large baking sheets and lightly spray a work surface with cooking spray and roll out each portion into a strip about 7 inches long and 2 inches wide. Beginning at narrow end, roll up each strip to from a roll. Place the rolls on the prepared baking sheets, seam side down and well apart. Cover with more sprayed plastic wrap, and let rise in a warm place, free of drafts until doubled in bulk.

Meanwhile preheat oven to 350. Bake until the rolls are golden brown and sound hollow when thumped on the bottoms, 15-18 minutes, switching the pans positions halfway through. Serve warm.

Serves 24. Makes 24 rolls

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 2, 2010 in Breads

 

Leave a Reply

 
