RSS

ITALIAN CHICKEN PATE

03 Feb

Hello everyone,

We went to the funeral today for my husband’s uncle, they had a nice service for him. I’m very tired tonight so this will be a short post.

I am going to bake sourdough bread tomorrow, my starter is finally ready, and I’m making the egg drop soup but the French version, we’ll see how it turns out!

 I  am baking a Valentine’s cake for Saturday, it’s a cupid with a heart. It’s an older Wilton cake pan that I bought from a lady online, it’s really cute. I’ll be decorating Valentine cookies with my mom, niece’s and nephew. I’m looking forward to it. I also decided to make the 2 chilies for Saturday from the (Food Network magazine), the he made she made contest.  I’ll let you know Saturday which one wins!

When I got a chance to look at this post today I realized all the mistakes I had made. I was more tired last night than I thought!!! lol 🙂

Here’s a recipe for you all and a couple more Angel Cake pictures!

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?pid=30362191&id=1528013904

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?pid=30367188&id=1528013904

ITALIAN CHICKEN PATE

 

For the chicken pate:

4 cups cooked chicken breast meat, finely shredded

¼ cup fresh lemon juice

4 cloves garlic, minced

2/3 cup red onion, finely chopped

½ cup sun-dried tomatoes, finely chopped

1 tsp. dried basil, (I like the taste of the dried basil better than fresh in this) I have wierd taste buds.

1 cup mayonnaise

 

For the Pesto:

1 cup lightly packed fresh basil leaves

¼ cup freshly grated Pecorino romano cheese

3 tblsp. pine nuts

3 cloves garlic

½ cup olive oil

For the Italian flatbread:

3 cups all-purpose flour

3 tsp. dried Italian seasoning

1 ½ tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tbslp. Olive oil

1 ¼ cups plus 2 tblsp. Cold water

1/3 cup Pecorino romano cheese, grated

olive oil for brushing

To make flatbread: Preheat oven to 350. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, salt, cheese & Italian seasoning. Stir in olive oil & enough cold water to make a smooth, soft dough. On floured surface, knead dough 3 minutes. In a 12×17 cookie sheet brush with olive oil, spread dough evenly into pan. Brush top with more olive oil. Bake for 15-20 minutes until firm to the touch. Cool completely before topping with basil & chicken pate.

For the chicken pate: Mix all ingredients together until combined. Refrigerate until ready to use.

For basil pesto: Place all ingredients in a food processor & process until smooth.

To assemble: Cut bread into 1-inch squares, top with ½ tsp. pesto, then with 1 tsp. chicken mixture.

Top with Pecorino romano cheese shavings.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2010 in Appetizers

 

Leave a Reply

 
