RSS

French Egg Drop Soup?

04 Feb

Hello all, I made the French egg drop soup tonight. Now I can hear you asking what the hell is that? I thought egg drop soup is made only in Chinease restaruants! Turns out it’s not, there are several versions of this soup.  Here is the French defintion I found:

Le Tourin is a type of garlic soup, from France, also known as le tourin d’ail doux, or Smooth Garlic Soup. Many regions have their own variations on the recipe. Typically, many recipes include as many as 20 cloves of garlic for a much stronger flavor. However other recipes include an equal measure of both onions and garlic to even out the taste. To prepare, the minced garlic (and sliced onions if included) are sauteed until soft and a simple roux is made by adding flour. Chicken stock or water is added to the mixture and is simmered over low heat to reduce. Egg whites are slowly drizzled in, not unlike egg drop soup, but whisked very rapidly to prevent large curds from forming. It is further thickened by tempering an egg yolk mixed with vinegar, which is then added to the soup. It is served hot over slices of dried bread with Gruyere cheese grated on top.

I didn’t folllow this version to the letter because I didn’t have enough garlic or bread or cheese! Oh hell I made my own version, besides my husband doesn’t like garlic as much as I do. I’ll write down how I made it.

My version of Egg Drop Soup;

6 cups vegetable broth or stock 

4 green onions, sliced

3 medium carrots, peeled and thinly sliced

3 stalks celery, peeled and thinly sliced

6 garlic cloves, mashed (that have been roasted***) see below

3 tblsp. cornstarch

5-6 tsp. water

2 eggs

In a large soup pot, bring broth to a boil over medium-high heat, add all the vegetables and garlic and cook until tender, about 10 minutes. Mix together the cornstarch and water to make a smooth paste, ( if you want the soup thinner use a tblsp. less cornstarch) or to taste. (I like mine thicker than most people.) Slowly whisk into soup, just until thickened. In a small bowl whisk the eggs until frothy. Bring soup to a low boil, and in a slow steady stream wisk in the eggs, so they look like little shreds of noodles. 

To roast garlic cut the top half of off a whole head of garlic, drizzle with olive oil and wrap in foil. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes until tender. Do not add salt, it will turn your garlic a blue color, you can still use it, it just looks wierd!!! 

Ok this was my first time making egg drop soup it was pretty simple to make and, it turned out pretty good.  My husband loved it!!!

I did get my cake baked for Sat. and I found the cake I want to make for the Vet. on Monday. I’ll be using the Little Hero Pan, and make him look like a fisherman. My vet this time likes fishing and was in the navy, I also get to pick what flavor I want to bake. So many of the vets want chocolate, or german chocolate, I get so tired of chocolate!!! Sometimes they want pie, I don’t pick those most of the time, My mom who is an (Angel Baker as well) picks up those most of the time. I delivered a lemon pie once for her to the VA, it was so cute. The vet  like to fish so she put a fisherman in a boat in the middle of the pie catching a fish, (do you  sense a common theme here)??? Seems like most of the vets like to fish!! LOL 

Well that’s all for now I’ll talk to ya all later!!!  🙂

Amanda

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Soups

 

Leave a Reply

 
