RSS

NEW EAGLAND CLAM CHOWDER and I Can’t Sleep tonight…

05 Feb

Hello everyone,

Sleep eludes me tonight it’s now 2am and I’m in alot of pain. I’m watching my favorite movie Julie and Julia (love how she talked that high sounding voice!!!!, it’s been my favorite food movie since Chocolat. Anyone ever see that movie, with Juleitte Binoche? Love that movie with all that chocolate!!! YUM!!!

 I have 2 Dr. appts tomarrow (or later today I should say) 😦 First the dentist then my eye Dr. My eyes have gotten worse since the last July, the Sarcoid effects them. My teeth hurt alot to, everytime I drink something to cold or to hot and it hit’s my teeth it’s like needles hitting them. OUCH!!!

Ok on to better subjects, I made my sourdough bread yesterday and it tourned out ok. It doesn’t have the tang that I wanted. I have more starter in the frige, I’m hoping by next week it will have more sour flavor. I made in interesting sandwich that my husband liked tonight.  It’s pretty easy, just spread one slice of bread with thousened Island dressing, a slice of swiss cheese, corned beef, sourkrout, caramelized onions, another slice of swiss cheese, top with other slice of bread. Grill on both sides until brown and cheese is melted. Yummy!!!

Here’s my Clam Chowder recipe, it’s Ray’s favorite!

NEW EAGLAND CLAM CHOWDER

 

¼ cup cut-up bacon

1 medium onion, chopped

4 garlic cloves, minced

2 (6.5 oz each) minced clams, undrained

1 (8oz bottle) clam juice

2 medium carrots, diced

2 medium celery ribs, diced

4 medium potatoes, diced

½ tsp. salt

½ tsp. pepper

1 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. olive oil

1 (12oz. can) evaporated milk

2 tsp. cornstarch

1 tblsp. water

In a 4-quart saucepan, heat oil & cook bacon, garlic & onion over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until bacon is crisp & onion & garlic is tender; drain of fat.

Stir in the salt, pepper, thyme, carrots, celery, potatoes, clams, & clam juice. Cook over medium –low heat, until clam juice is reduced by half & potatoes & vegetables are tender. Add milk & gently stir until heated. Mix cornstarch & water together & add to the pot & stir gently until soup is slightly thickened. Serves 6

Here’s a couple of my cakes that I havedone for ny family….

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?pid=30357398&id=1528013904

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?pid=30357399&id=1528013904&fbid=1156378439470

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?pid=30357434&id=1528013904

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?pid=30372602&id=1528013904

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 5, 2010 in Soups

 

Leave a Reply

 
