RSS

Cheeseburger Pasta and Idaho Steelheads and 3-D Care Bear Cakes.

11 Feb

Hello all,

I delivered the 2 cakes today, one was an Idaho Steelheads hocky player, the other was a 3-D Care Bears cake. The people loved them, I love seeing how there faces light up when they see there cakes. It made my day despite all the pain I’m in. I was up until 2am getting the cakes done. Thank goodness there wasn’t any more spills or mess’s ect… ūüôā¬† The hocky cake¬†was a spice cake with a creame brulee icing. The Care Bears cake was strawberry with buttercream icing. The cream bruleee icing tasted an smelled¬†so good, I’ll¬†post the recipe below for that¬†one.¬†

I haven’t made anything¬†else foodrelated this week, I have someting wrong with my¬†right leg. Taking way to much pain meds and nothing helps. I’m seeing my Dr. tomarrow, and she shinks I might¬†have a blood clot. If I do I’ll be in the hospital.. ūüė¶¬† It’s very painful even to walk. This all related to the Sarcoidosis, it can effect¬†your arteries¬†as well. I¬† hope it’s nothing more that bad leg cramp!!! I want to bake my nephew’s Transformer cake¬†tomarrow. He has been asking me about it for months. When we went to my mom’s house Saturday to decorate cookies, the kids were allready there. Abby jumped up and yelled my name and came running to hug my legs, and Bo yelled out our names and said he missed us. I’m still crying thinking about it… I am so frustrated with this disease and what it’s taken away from me,¬† my energy, eyesight, and I can’t have children…¬† That’s why I bake it’s all I have right now….

Here’s the recipe for the icing,

4 cups powdered sugar, sifted ***

1 stick unsalted butter, softened. No substitutes!

1/2 cup Crisco shortening

4-6 T. Cream Brulee liquid coffee creamer,more if needed, for desired consistency

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 tsp. butter extract

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

Mix¬†all ingredient’s together well.¬†

I have only used this on spice cake so¬†far,¬†I think it would be good with a butter cake as well. I’ll have to try it out and see!!!¬†

Note on powdered sugar: use only pure cane powdered sugar, some brands of powdered siugar is beet sugar and doesn’t dissolve well in icing. This will cause you alot of trouble with piping, like writing!! Beat sugar clogs up those small tips, and it’s frutrating to keep changing or washing tips.

Here’s another recipe for you all to try:

Cheeseburger Pasta

1 cup whole wheat elbow macaroni, cooked and drained

1 lb. ground beef or turkey

6 slices bacon, diced

1 (10 3/4oz.) can, condensed tomato soup, undiluted

1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

1 Tblsp. dried minced onion

1 tsp. granulated garlic

1 (14.5 oz.) can diced no salt added tomatoes, undrained

In skillet cook beef with dried onion and granulated garlic, until no longer pink; drain and set aside. In the same pan cook the bacon until crisp; remove to paper toweling and discard drippings. Add all the ingredients back into skillet and heat through, until cheese is melted.

This one of my favorites!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 11, 2010 in Pasta

 

Leave a Reply

 
