RSS

Orange Grove Cake

17 Feb

Hello Everyone,

 I’m still alive and kicking, well alive anyway… lol  I had a lady come from our church today, it was nice to have someone come and see me… When you can’t drive and live as far out as we do it can get lonely sometimes. It’s nice to have people here, I just wish it was more often. We can never have anyone over without them calling first, my house is small and cluttered. My husband is a pack-rat and like’s to keep stuff I would throw away. Sometimes I still throw stuff away without him knowing it. He get’s weird about keeping all kinds of junk. My parent’s moved every 3 years of my life and I learned what to keep and what to give or throw away. No, they were not army or anything like that. They just never seemed settled, they got divorced just 2 weeks shy of there 25fith Wedding anniversary.  They grew apart and just wanted different thing’s. They are both married to different people now and it’s been a hard for me. There spouse’s have children of their own and so, all our time is divided. Holiday’s can be hell sometimes, this past Christmas wasn’t good. My mom and her husband did get us some nice thing’s this year, I don’t understand why though. I just hope Easter doesn’t get all botched up I’m not looking forward to it I guess. We can’t have people to eat at our house, I hate the way Ray reacts most of the time, like it’s always a bad time to have someone here.  Well on to better thing’s…

I have a cake to bake for a vet this weekend, he likes music and was in the Navy. Any thought’s on what I should make him??? I’m glad to have something to do besides just sit around my house this weekend.  It keeps me away from my cranky husband, just kidding  lol… You see we have 15 years between us and it’s hard to find common ground. We both like to eat and watch movies, but our taste’s in both area’s are very different. We try to do what each of us like’s, it’s not alway’s easy.  Well enough for now…

Here’s the recipe for the Orange Grove Cake that I won Best In Show at the Western Idaho State Fair. I was very suprised to win. I never thought it would win anything!!! It’s by Tish Boyle’s The Cake Book, I love her cookbooks!! I did change the frosting recipe, to my taste..

Amanda 🙂

 

Orange Grove Cake

Cake layers:

3-cups cake flour

2½ tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. salt

1-cup (2 sticks butter), softened

1¾-cups granulated sugar

4 large eggs

2 tsp. orange zest

1/3-cup orange juice

2/3-cup whole milk

Orange Filling:

½-cup granulated sugar

1 tbl. Plus 2 tsp. cornstarch

1/8 tsp. salt

1 tsp. orange zest

2/3-cup orange juice

2 tbl. lemon juice

2 tbl. water

3 large egg yolks

Orange Soaking Syrup

1/3-cup water

¼-cup orange juice

½-cup granulated sugar

1 tsp. orange extract

Frosting:

4-cups sifted powdered sugar

2 sticks butter, softened

1 tsp. orange zest

1 tsp. orange extract

¼-tsp. popcorn salt

3 tbl. heavy cream

Make the cake:

Heat oven to 350 degrees, grease & flour 2, 9-inch round cake pans. Sift together the flour, baking powder, & salt. Set aside.

Cream the butter & sugar together until light & fluffy, add eggs one at a time beating well after each addition. Beat in orange juice & zest until combined. On low-speed add the flour mixture & milk in alternating additions. Pour into prepared pans and bake for 22 to 25 minutes until done. Cool in pans for 15 minutes on a wire rack. Invert onto racks & let cool completely.

Make the filling:

In a medium saucepan, stir together all the ingredients. Place over medium-high heat & cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens & comes to boil. Let boil, stirring, for 1 minute. Remove the pan from the heat & scrape the filling into a small bowl. Cover the surface with plastic wrap & refrigerate until chilled, about 1 hour.   

Make the Syrup:

In a small saucepan, combine the water, orange juice, & sugar & bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally to dissolve the sugar. Remove the pan from the heat & stir in the orange extract. Set aside at room temperature.

Make the Frosting:

Cream all ingredients together until smooth & fluffy.

To assemble cake, slice cake layers in half, place first layer on serving plate. Brush with syrup, & then add 1/3 of the filling. Repeat with next 2 layers. Set last cake layer on top of filling & brush with remaining syrup. Frost top & sides with frosting. 

Recipe By Amanda J. Bowyer

For some reason and I can’t figure out why, but part of the recipe is in bold type. I have redone this post 3 times already. I don’t know much of anything about computers. I’m sorry it looks that way, maybe later my husband will help me with it, he’s the computer person.. lol Who knows…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
