RSS

Corn Tamale Casserole & VA cake

23 Feb

 

Hello everyone,

I have a VA cake to finish tonight, it’s now 10:30 p.m. I’m afraid I’m going to be up late tonight. I don’t know why I wait so long to get the cakes done.  I made  a french vanilla cake with creme brulee icing. I know I’ve made that icing a lot lately, I really like the taste of it. I hope the people I give the cakes to like it as much as I do!!! lol!!! I’ll post the link for the cake I’m making,  I hope the vet likes it!!! Sometimes I get thank you cards from people.  It’s nice to hear from the people we make cakes for! Not that’s the reason I make the cakes, I do it because I love it!!!

http://www.wilton.com/idea/First-Mate-Cake

Healthwise I’m doing better, my leg is feeling a lot better. My DR said I can’t take birth control pills anymore. I’m not happy about that. I have poly cystic ovarian syndrome, it’s where I have cysts grow on my ovaries. The BC was the only thing I have found that worked for me. To be honest I don’t think I ever want kids. I’m 34 now and have to many other issues to deal with. Do you think that’s selfish of someone to not want kids??? I like my freedom, you have to give up a lot to have kids.  I just don’t think I have it in me to be a mother anymore. I like animals better, they don’t cost as much and don’t talk back! I used to want kids really bad and was willing to do anything, something changed with me awhile ago to change my mind. I don’t know what it was, but the desire for kids went away. I love baking cakes for kids through, that’s about it. When I told my mom what the Dr. said, she said tell them you want a baby that will take care of the BC thing, I said no way!!! That’s the last thing I need now!!! I was raised with a lot of foster kids, to many sometimes. Foster care isn’t something I want to do either. I know there’s a lot of kids that need good homes, but I think I’ll stick to just baking cakes for them. When we move (don’t know when that will ever happen) I wouldn’t mind taking in a student from another country. I think I could handle them ok??? We’ll see what happens, first I need to get healthy!!!

Well I better go get the cake done, I’ll be up the next 2 hours or so getting it done. I’m glad we have satellite tv, otherwise there wouldn’t be anything on to listen to. I’m watching Forrest Gump now, love that movie!!!

Here’s a recipe for my corn tamale casserole, hope ya all like it!!!  🙂

Corn Tamale Casserole:

Beef mixture:

1- lb., ground beef

3, green onions white and green parts, chopped

1, (15 oz.) can black beans, rinsed and drained

1, (8 oz.) can tomato sauce

1, (14.5 oz.) can diced tomatoes, undrained

1, (14.75 oz.) can cream style corn

1, (4 oz.) can diced fire roasted chilies, undrained

1, tblsp. chili powder

1, tsp. Ground cumin

1, tsp. granulated garlic

1, tsp. salt

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly spray a 9×13 pan with vegetable spray.

Brown beef in large skillet, do not drain. Add remaining ingredients and heat through. Set aside and keep warm.

Tamale Topping:

1-cup cornmeal

1-cup all-purpose flour

4, tablespoon sugar

4 teaspoons baking powder

1-cup whole milk

1 egg, beaten

1/4 cup butter, melted

1, cup shredded cheddar cheese

1, (4 oz.) can, diced fire roasted chilies

1, (8-3/4 oz.) whole kernel corn, drained

1/2, tsp. cayenne powder

1/2, tsp. Ground Cumin

In mixing bowl, combine the first 5 ingredients. Make a well in the center of mixture and pour in milk, butter, and the egg. Blend to combine. Mix in remaining ingredient’s just until blended, no do over mix.

Pour beef mixture into prepared pan; pour cornmeal topping over beef mixture. Smooth the top. Bake for 30 minutes until top in brown. Yield 12 servings.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2010 in Casseroles

 

Leave a Reply

 
