RSS

Chocolate Cream cake & Canning class tomarrow!

24 Feb

Hello Everyone,   

I delivered the cake to the Vet today, and you won’t belive what I did!!! I messed up on the flavor of the  cake!!! It was supposed to be chocolate, but I made the french vanilla cake instead. I don’t know what happened to me to mess up a cake order like that. It’s the first time that I have done that! I hope he likes it anyway, on the card that we put with all the Angel Cakes I wrote on the back and said how very sorry I was for the mistake. I hope he forgives me! When I realized what I did it was too late to make another cake. If I didn’t have the Dr. appt. today I could have remade it, but I couldn’t change this Dr. appt. The appt. went well they took more blood of course, to check and see what’s going on with me. I can’t understand half of what this Dr. says, she really nice and know’s her stuff, but she talks in Dr. speak all the time. With a lot of big words that I have no idea what she’s saying. Good thing my husband was there today he could understand some of it. My mom would have been there today, she understand’s the Dr. lingo she has some medical training and used to teach EMT’s.  She couldn’t come because her husband had back surgery today, from what she said everything went well with him. That was good to hear, he’ll be in the hospital for a couple of days with this.   

I have another cake this week, it’s for a mentally challenged adult, she likes flowers. I decided to make her a flower-pot with roses on it, I might put on a few pansies as well. I love making roses, they are my favorite flower to make next to pansies. Flower making is what I love doing the most. I  make buttercream, fondant, and gumpaste flowers. I mostly make buttercream flowers for all the Angel Cakes, I don’t think a lot of people would like the fondant or gumpaste flowers. Fondant and gumpaste flowers dry rock hard and are more for display than anything else.   

I’m making my chocolate orange cake and chicken chili for my canning class tomorrow, we always have a potluck with the class. I get to try all kinds of thing’s, we have some really good cooks in our group. It’s always a lot of fun, I’m looking forward to it. It’s nice to see everyone and catch up on how there all doing.  The class will be about showing thing’s in the fair, on how to judge items, and some other thing’s. I would love to be a judge in the fair! I think it would be a lot of fun. I was supposed to judge some of the 4-H exhibits last year, but I couldn’t that was when I started getting sick with the Sarcoidosis.  What a bummer that was!!!    

Well I better go for now, I’m making veggie stir fry tonight, with brown rice. Yummy!!!   

Here’s a my recipe for my chocolate cream cake, hope you all like it!!!   

Chocolate Cream Cake
 
Cake:
1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
 
1/3 cup baking cocoa
 
1-teaspoon baking soda  
 
½ teaspoon salt    
 
5 egg whites    
1-cup butter (2 sticks) softened   

1 cup packed light brown sugar   

1 cup granulated sugar   

5 egg yolks   

1-teaspoon vanilla   

1-cup sour cream   

Frosting:   

1 (8 oz) package cream cheese softened   

½ cup butter, softened   

4 cups powdered sugar   

½ cup baking cocoa   

1-teaspoon vanilla   

1/8 teaspoon popcorn salt   

Heat oven to 350 degrees; grease and flour 3, 8-inch round cake pans, set aside. Mix flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt; set aside. Beat egg whites in medium bowl with electric mixer on high-speed until stiff peaks form; set aside. Beat butter and sugars in large bowl on medium speed, scraping bowl occasionally, until fluffy. Beat in egg yolks and vanilla until smooth and blended.   

Gradually beat in flour mixture with sour cream, beating after each addition until smooth. Fold in beaten egg whites. Pour into pans. Bake for 23 to 28 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to a wire rack. Cool completely. Beat all frosting ingredients together until smooth. Fill layers and frost side and top of cake with frosting.   

Enjoy!!!   

Until tomorrow, Amanda  🙂   

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 24, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
