RSS

Food Network Magazine Omelets and VA cakes

03 Mar

Hello everyone,

I’m sorry I didn’t post about my last VA cake. I havn’t been feeling to well, blaaa!!! I made a square chocolate cake with vanilla buttercream. The Vet liked  bicycling, it was for a female we don’t have to many female vets. Most of them living in the VA home are men.  I had a cookie cutter in the shape of a bicycle, so I made it look like she was riding down a path. It didn’t turn out as well as I would have liked. I just didn’t have the energy for this cake. It sucks being sick, I wanted to make a cake in the shape of a bicycle. I have a picture of one somewhere, just don’t know what I did with it!!! I have 2 Va cakes next week on Wednesday,  one is for a farmer. Here is a cake I want to make:    http://www.wilton.com/idea/Little-Red-Barn   I’ll have to make the barn and silo out of styrofoam, otherwise it will be to much cake. I don’t maybe I’ll do it all in cake, it serves 26 so we’ll see what I feel like doing. Isn’t it cute??? I hope he doesn’t think it’s to childish? What do you all think let me know OK!!! The other cake  I’m making is going to look like a record player! Thanks to one of my readers for her recent idea!!!! Thank you Marla!!! I’ll have to carve it out of cake, them maybe use some candy decorations. I’ll have to draw it on paper first so I can see the picture in my mind, or I’ll just do some searching online!!! HA!!!  

OK so I get the Food Network magazine for March, there so many recipes I would like to try, to many I think!!! I made the omelet’s from the (he made she made contest). Ted Allen’s and Sunny Anderson’s, we liked Ted’s better. Now Sunny’s was tasty and all the ingredient’s were easy to find, we just found we didn’t like the sauce. It covered up the tatse of what was in the omelet. Ted’s omelet was great, but the ingredient’s, in my area were not only harder to find but more pricey. Winco and Wal-Mart don’t have Serano ham, and Manchego cheese. I did find the hazelnuts in Winco. I found the ham and cheese at Albertson’s, it was $10 for a small chunck of the cheese!!! OUCH!! The ham was $7-8 dollers for a small package as well. While we both, (meaning my husband and I) loved Ted’s better, I won’t be making it again to soon!!! Not at those prices for ham and cheese come on!!! I’ll use pepperroni and mozzarella next time, like a pizza omelet! That sounds good, doesn’t it?? We both really liked the romesco sauce, I have never in my life put nuts in a tomato sauce! It was really good,  with some of the leftover sauce I made a pizza with it! Yummy!!!  🙂

My health is doing ok, I have to have an ultrasound tomarrow on my right leg. The other day before my bread class I almost got in a car accident. This guy in a big white pickup decided to cut in front of me and I almost hit him on the side. It wouldn’t have done any damage to his pickup, but would have totaled our car! I had to slam on the brakes really hard and the Dr. thinks I may have had a hemmorage in my leg from hitting the brake so hard. I was shaking so bad when I picked up Ray from work, he drove the rest of the night. The next day my leg started swelling and I have what looks like broken blood vessals around my foot and ankle. It doesn’t hurt alot, only when the Dr. starting poking at it! Thank goodness I don’t have anymore cakes this week, just a couple more Dr. appt’s. I’ll have to keep my leg up for awhile, and put hot or cold packs on it.  Well until next time everyone!!!

Amanda 🙂

 

2 responses to “Food Network Magazine Omelets and VA cakes

  1. uma

    March 3, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Even I like watching Food Network.. Hey Amanda, Wish you a speedy recovery!…

     
  2. cakebaker35

    March 3, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
