RSS

St. Patricks Day Menu

12 Mar

Hello everyone, 

It’s been a busy couple of days for me. I had 3 Dr. appts this week plus made 2 VA cakes, yikes!!! I’ve had to keep my leg up because of the blood clots and the ankle hemmorage. It’s looking better, the hemotaligist said that it will always look bigger and swell more than the other leg for the rest of my life. The hemotaligist took 9 vials of blood, I can’t remember what all he’s testing for. I should know something by next Wednesday.  

The VA cakes turned out good. I really liked how I made the music cake. I made 2 9×13 cakes and stacked them. Then put a 6-inch cake on top to look like the turntable. I found some old-time plastic records at a party store and decorated the top and sides of the cake. The farm cake turned out ok. I didn’t put the silo on it, because I was afraid it would topple over. Next time I’ll make it a bigger cake, the instructions said to make a 9×13 cake. I’ll make a firmer cake also, more like a pound cake. I made the barn out of rice crispy cereal treats, and it worked out great. I put 2 dowel rods through it to stabilize it, but again the bottom cake was too soft. By the time it went to the VA it was starting to tilt back. My mom and her husband delivered the cakes to the VA for me. It was the same day as the appt with the hemotaligist and it took longer than I thought it would take. They need the cakes by 11am, it was 11:30 before we got out of the office, and they still needed to draw the blood. I’m hard to get blood from. My veins are small and deep, the tech did a good job. Most of the time I get poked 2-3 times before they find a good vein. Some of the techs are scared to death to even try.  I have 2 cakes for next week, they both will going to a nursing home and I can make whatever I want to make! I haven’t even thought about what I’m doing yet. I’m going to make a St. Patrick’s day cake, and maybe some cupcakes to send with Ray to work. 

Here’s a menu for St. Patrick’s Day, I hope you enjoy it!!! 

 

 

Salmon and Potato Pancakes with Dill Sauce

3 cups finely shredded, peeled potatoes, well drained

1 (14.75 oz.) can salmon, drained skin and bones removed

2 eggs, well beaten

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 a small onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, finely minced

In mixing bowl, gently combine all ingredients. Drop by tablespoonfuls into hot oil, and fry until lightly brown on both sides.

Dill Sauce

4 tablespoons butter

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 cups warm whole milk

Salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup chopped fresh dill

In saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Stir in flour and cook for 1 to 2 minutes. Add milk, then bring to a gentle boil, reduce heat to low and cook until thickened stirring constantly. Add salt, pepper, and fresh dill.

Cabbage and Bacon

1/2 head medium cabbage, chopped

3 strips bacon, diced

1/2 small onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 large green bell pepper, chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Fry bacon in skillet until crispy. do not drain; add the rest of the ingredients and cook until tender.

Quick Potato Bread

4 all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cream of tarter

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 cups buttermilk

1 cup cold unseasoned mashed potatoes, without milk and butter

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Lightly grease a 9-inch round or 9×5-inch loaf pan. Sift the flour, baking soda, cream of tarter, and salt. Stir in the sugar. Make a well in the center, and add the potatoes, and buttermilk. Stir until combined. Dough will be sticky. Turn into prepared pan, and bake for ten minutes. Then reduce heat to 400 degrees and bake for about forty-five minutes more, or until bread is firm to the touch and golden brown. Let cool before slicing.

Apple Fool

1 pound granny smith apples, peeled, cored, and sliced

Zest of one lemon, and juice

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Two tablespoons water

1/3 cup granulated sugar

2 egg yolks

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup heavy cream

Green food coloring, optional

In a small saucepan, combine the apples, lemon juice, zest, cinnamon, and water. Cover and simmer until the apples are soft, about 10 minutes. Transfer to a blender or a food processor and puree until smooth. Transfer back to the saucepan and stir in the sugar. Add the egg yolks and stir over low heat for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool for 10 minutes. Stir in the sour cream and refrigerate for one hour.

In a large chilled bowl beat the heavy cream until stiff peaks form. Fold into the apple mixture. Add green coloring, if desired

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2010 in St. Patricks Day Menus

 

Leave a Reply

 
