RSS

Honey Whole Wheat Rolls & 2 cakes next week!!!

14 Mar

Hello everyone,    

I have 2 nursing home cakes next week, kinda have an idea for one but not the other. Thankfully there not on the same day either. One is Tuesday and the other one is on Saturday. I can make whatever I want to make also… I think one cake will be a coconut cake, decorated with flowers or something. That is as far as I have gotten… I’ll have to look at my books, or go to Wilton’s website to get inspiration!!! Did I mention I was one of the top bakers for Angel Cakes last month! It was a tie between me and one other baker. We both made 6 cakes between both of us!!! WOW!!! I was the top baker in December and January, with 11 cakes in December and 10 cakes in January. Last month Angel Cakes signed up 6 new bakers, I was happy to see them take some cakes!!! It’s great having new people, I am going to have to slow down a bit for a while anyway.    

St. Patrick’s Day is next week and I’m going to make a cake and cupcakes. The cupcakes are for Ray’s work, they love my stuff there. Ray send’s out an email to everyone and most of the time everything is gone by noon!!! LOL… Last week I made banana whoopie pies and they loved them.    

I haven’t been doing too much the last couple of days. I have had some much blood taken from me that it has tried me out.  10 vials all together, between 2 different DR. YIKES!!! I’m really bruised still from taken the Lovanox, my belly looks like someone punched me several times! I can’t lift a laundry basket either, I just scoot it across the flour or have Ray pick it up!!! LOL… I also have to start wearing o2 during the night, the Dr. did one of those overnight o2 tests on me, and my o2 is going down to 88 for more than 20 minutes. That’s not good, on room air I’m fine. So yesterday a man came and set me all up with the o2 machine and o2 tanks incase the power goes out. Which it has done many times where we live. We live away’s out in the country and in an old farmhouse. The wiring out here isn’t the best. I can’t remember how many time’s Ray has replaced fuse’s ect… We are very thankful we have a house to live in and keep warm.  I know a lot of other people are having a hard time right now. So be thankful for each day that the Lord has given you!!! You never know if it will be your last! I am thankful for each day I wake up, with my disease effecting me in so many way’s!!! Oh the thing’s we go through in this life,  just remember take one day at a time…  🙂   

Here is a recipe for my Honey Whole Rolls, I won 1st place in the Western Idaho Fair for them a couple of years ago. Plus I also won a Kitchen-aide mixer!!! WOW I was so happy to get that! Well I am off to make some clam chowder tonight, happy baking and cooking everyone!!!    

Honey-Whole Wheat Rolls
2 packages dry active yeast (4 1/2 teaspoons)

2-1/4 cups water (105-115 degrees)   

1/3 cup honey  
¼ cup butter, melted   
2 teaspoons salt   

  

3 cups whole-wheat flour    

3-4 cups all-purpose flour    

Additional butter melted, to brush bread before baking and after.    

In mixing bowl, add water, honey, butter, and salt. Stir in yeast. Add the whole-wheat flour, then add some all-purpose flour while kneading, just until dough is slightly tacky, about 10 minutes. Let rise in greased bowl in a warm place until doubled, about 1- 1/2 hours. Roll into balls and place in a buttered baking pan.  Let rise until doubled in bulk, about 45 minutes. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes. Brush with melted butter when done.    

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2010 in Breads

 

2 responses to “Honey Whole Wheat Rolls & 2 cakes next week!!!

  1. Simply Life

    March 17, 2010 at 12:42 am

    Oh those rolls sound GREAT!

     

Leave a Reply

 
