RSS

Creme De Menthe Cupcakes

17 Mar

Hello everyone,

I made the Creme De Menthe cupcakes for my husband’s work yesterday, and they turned out great! (I’ll post the recipe below). My husband keep’s sending me email comment’s from people he works with, one person said they are so freaking good!!! lol… ūüôā

Healthwise¬†I’m doing ok, my right ankle still swell’s a lot¬†when I’m up on it too much. It’s still turning bluish purple, I know gross!!!¬†It’s from the hemorrhage¬†after the almost car accident I had a awhile ago.¬† My house smell’s like smoke right¬†now! The farmer’s helper is outside using a blow torch to burn down the weeds in the ditches. I wish there was a better way to do that. It’s really hard for me to breath with all the smoke. I think I’ll go grab my o2 and wear it for a while. Just until the smoke clears out anyway. Ok, I’m back now and breathing better. When I turn the machine on it scares the daylight’s out of my cats!! Lol its¬†really¬†very funny, Minnie dashes downstairs, it make’s a loud beeping noise which is normal. Hopefully in time she’ll get used to it…¬† The hemotoligist¬†sent me a letter yesterday and I have an app¬†with them to go over the test result’s from all the blood they took from me. So we’ll see what they say, it’s not until the 25th.

I’m making a St. Patrick’s¬†Day meal for my husband and I tonight. I’m making broiled lamb with tomatoes. Lemon butter roasted asparagus with shaving’s of Irish Dubliners’¬†cheese. ¬†I love that cheese, Ray was going to get some from Costco this past weekend, but they were all out! Oh no!!! So, I had to go to Fred Meyer and pay more for a smaller amount!!! I’m also kicking myself for not buying the Irish butter they¬†had, it would have went well with the asparagus and potatoes. I’m also making buttered red potatoes, with lot’s of fresh parsley. I already made my Irish oatmeal soda bread, it’s cooling down now. I’m also making a chocolate 4-leaf clover cake with Creme De Menthe¬†frosting, and filling it with marshmallow¬†cream mixed with some buttercream¬†icing.¬†Tomorrow I’ll post the recipes and how thing’s turned out.

Here’s the recipe for the cupcakes, they are super tasty and easy!!!

Creme De Menthe Cupcakes

1 box (18.25oz) white cake mix, I used a  Betty Crocker mix for this recipe

1 cup whole milk

1/4 cup Creme De Menthe, I used DeKuyper brand, it’s really green!

1/3 cup vegetable oil

3 whole large eggs

1 tsp. pure peppermint extract.

marshmallow cream, for filling cupcakes

Chocolate frosting:

3-1/2 cups sifted powdered sugar

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup Crisco, no substitute’s.

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tsp. butter extract

2-4 tbsp. heavy cream, depends on how soft you want it.

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

Mix the¬†cake mix, milk, creme de menthe, vegetable oil, eggs, and peppermint extract¬†together¬†for¬†3-5 minutes scraping bowl occasionally. Batter will be fluffy, you don’t want lumps in it.¬†¬†Fill cupcake papers with batter it will make 24 cupcakes, and bake at 350 for 20-22 minutes.

With a pastry bag fitted with a #10 tip fill cupcakes with marshmallow cream. Just poke the tip into each cupcake and squeeze some in until the cupcake plumps up slightly. It takes some practice, but after the first couple of cupcakes it will be easier. Have a wet towel near by for the tip, it will get sticky and clumped up with cake and cream. Wipe the tip clean after a couple of cupcakes have been filled.

Beat all frosting ingredient’s together until smooth and fluffy. With a pastry bag fitted with a #22 star tip, pipe swirls on each cupcake.

Now you can pipe green 4-leaf clovers if you want to, just use same frosting recipe,¬†and leave out the cocoa powder and use 4 cups powdered sugar. Replace the extract’s with peppermint extract and the heavy cream with creme de menthe. Very minty and good!!!¬†

Until tomorrow everyone, 

Amanda ūüôā

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 17, 2010 in Cakes

 

One response to “Creme De Menthe Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

 
