RSS

St. Patrick’s Day Feast!!!

18 Mar

Hello everyone,

I wanted to write about what I made for Ray and I yesterday, it was so good there are not enough words to describe how tasty it was!!!

I made broiled lamb chops, broiled tomatoes and broiled asparagus. I made buttered new potatoes with fresh parsley, and Irish oatmeal quick bread. I made a chocolate cake (the recipe I used is the Chocolate Cream Cake on my cake page) I’m going to decorate it today, I ran out of energy yesterday. Here’s the link of the cake I’m making: http://www.wilton.com/idea/Green-Greetings   I don’t have a shamrock pan, can you believe that!!! I called different places and they didn’t have one anywhere. I made 3 small heart cakes and one small loaf cake to make the shape of the shamrock. I hope it looks ok when I’m done… I have about 150 different cake pans, so I’ll be looking for the Shamrock pan this year before next year.. lol!!!

Here’s the recipes for St. Patrick’s Day:

“Grilled” Lamb Chops and tomatoes with a Garlic Crust:

2 loin of lamb chops, I used 2 shoulder cuts instead and they had plenty of meat on them plus they were less expensive…

Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

3 tblsp. olive oil plus more for sprinkling

2 slices Irish soda bread. Use the bread from the recipe below.

1-1/2 tsp. fresh parsley

3/4 tsp. fresh chives

1/8 tsp. dried thyme

1 garlic clove, sliced

Zest on 1 orange and the juice.

2 large slicing tomatoes

Process all ingredient’s in food processor until a paste forms. Spray a broiler pan with cooking spray. Preheat broiler to high, and place the rack 4-5 inches from the heat. Season one side of the chops with olive oil, salt and pepper. Broil for 5 minutes. Turn over and spread 1 tblsp. on each chop. Spread the rest on the sliced tomatoes. Broil for another 7-8 minutes.

Before you put the meat in the oven, prepare the potatoes. In a medium saucepan boil 4-6 red potatoes, that have been washed and cut into chunks. Simmer on medium heat just until tender, about 8-10 minutes. Depends on how big the potatoes are. When cooked, drain and put in 4 tblsp. butter and let it melt. Do not mash the potatoes, unless you want to…

During the first broiling time, wash and prepare 1-lb. of fresh asparagus. In a food processor put in 2 tblsp. olive oil a handful of fresh parsley, fresh chives, salt, zest and juice of one large lemon and freshly ground black pepper to taste. process until smooth. Use half in the potatoes and the other half on the asparagus and place on a baking sheet. Roast the asparagus during the last 7-8 minutes of the meat and tomatoes roasting.

Irish Oatmeal Soda Bread:

2 cups old-fashioned oats

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

4 tblsp. cold butter, cut into pieces

2 cups cold buttermilk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a 9-inch round or loaf pan. In a large bowl stir together the oatmeal, flour, salt, baking soda, cream of tartar, and sugar. Cut in butter until mixture resembles course crumbs. Make a well in the center and pour in the buttermilk. Stir in just until moistened. Pour into prepared baking pan and bake for 35-40 minutes. Cool completely before slicing.

Enjoy everyone I know we did!!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 18, 2010 in St. Patricks Day Menus

 

Leave a Reply

 
