RSS

Banana Cake for Nursing Home Today

21 Mar

Hello everyone,

I made a banana cake with cream cheese frosting for a nursing home resident and we delivered it today. I kept it simple this week for both cakes. Just 2 9-inch layer cakes and frosting that would pare well with both. I decorated the cake with purple rosebuds and yellow polka dots.  Ray went with me today and we were running behind. We suppose to be there at 11am but we didn’t get there until 12pm. I called to let them know we running late.

 Ray and I went to Kopper Kitchen today to have lunch, and it was ok. We both had the house salads to start with and I didn’t like them. I could smell the bagged lettuce smell, yuck. When I worked for an Italian restaurant, (when I was 17). I would mix the bagged lettuce with some other vegetables they mixed them with and I couldn’t stand the smell. Now I can’t eat bagged lettuce at all, I can smell it on any salad in restaurants, and I won’t eat them. There crouton’s were tasty they were a crunchy, but not rock hard like so many crouton’s. I just ate those. We ordered the Idaho Nachos and they were great. Fried waffle potatoes with nacho cheese, chili, pepper, sour cream ect… Mainly all the thing’s that are bad for you!!!  🙂 I loved it, Ray thought it was to spicy hot, he can be wet blanket sometimes, you know a complainer I’m sad to say. He said he won’t order it again, but I will!!! Ray ordered the fish platter, and had them substitute onions rings for the calamari. I don’t know why he won’t try them, he says he can eat rubber bands at home… I had the prime rib, and I wanted it rare. They waitress said they couldn’t serve it that way. I like my meat on the rare side, while it still kicking. I hate it when meat is cooked until it’s dry, for safety purposes they say… We both ordered the rice pilaf and vegetables to go with out entrée, and they were ok, not super great. I don’t want to go there again, I can make better food at home and better for us. All I can say is that the Idaho Nachos were the best thing I had all day. I made a killer chicken curry last night I’ll post it tomorrow sometime.

I didn’t sleep to well last night,  I have been very tired today. If I don’t keep my right leg up enough the ankle turns bluish/purple, gross I know. I’ll have to call the Dr and see what they say about it.  I have been having a lot of pain for the last couple of days were my gallbladder used to be. Hurts clear into my back. (I had my gallbladder removed in May of 04.) I don’t know if this is related to what the Dr, wants to see me about on Thursday.

Here’s the Banana Cake recipe:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups mashed over-ripe banana’s (3 medium)

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

1/2 unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

2 large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2/3 cup chopped and toasted nuts, optional

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees grease and flour 2 9-inch round pans or a 9×13 cake pan.  Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the banana’s vanilla and eggs, mixture will look curdled, but it will come together. Add the dry ingredient’s alternating with the buttermilk. Fold in the nuts if using. Pour into prepared baking pans.*** Bake for 25-30 minutes until cake tester comes clean. Cool completely before frosting.

Tip*** after you grease and flour your baking pans put them in the refrigerator while you prepared your batter. This keeps the cake from sticking to the pan and prevents the butter or Crisco from melting into the cake. I do this all the time and it works very well. 🙂

Cream Cheese Frosting:

4 cups powdered sugar, sifted

1 stick unsalted butter, softened

1 (8oz. package) Philadelphia cream cheese, softened***

1 tsp. vanilla

2 tblsp. lemon juice, or more if needed

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

Beat all ingredient’s together until smooth and creamy.

This frosting takes color well and is easy to decorate with. If you have warm hands, like I do, put an ice-cube in your hand briefly and that will help the icing from melting. 

I only use Philadelphia cream cheese, I have found that it works very well with this frosting. Other brands contain water and filler’s so your frosting will be to runny

Well enjoy everyone, and remember to take one day at a time!!!

God Bless

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
