RSS

Chicken Curry

22 Mar

Hello everyone,

How is everyone today? I’m doing ok, Ray and I did a little cleaning today. Mostly Ray doing it and me bossing him around!!! lol… I love him a lot he puts up with a lot of my crap!!! I haven’t been feeling very well since last Wednesday. I have some pain in my right side that goes all the way around to my back, plus I have a red bumps and a rash. Ray and I think I might have shingles, he had them a couple of years ago. I’m calling the Dr. in the morning, this very painful and I’m itchy!!! I have a cake to deliver to a mentally challenged adult Tuesday, I hope I can get it done. I did bake the cake today. I called the place on Friday to get some idea’s on what the lady would like, but they didn’t call me back. It’s my fault I didn’t call until 4:45 pm on Friday and they close at 5pm! I’m going to call as soon as I can in the morning and get some idea’s.  I’m lagging behind on this one, just haven’t felt to good. I baked a strawberry cake and I am going to tort it and put some fresh strawberries in the middle and around the edges.  I was going to make a strawberry buttercream also. I hope she’ll like it!!! I used a Pillsbury cake mix, their strawberry mix is really good! It doesn’t have that metal taste that so many cake mixes have, and I have tried a lot!!! I add whole milk instead of water to my mixes, it just makes them taste better. 

Ok enough for now, here’s the recipe for the chicken curry…

1 lb. skinless, boneless, chicken breast meat, cut into 1-inch pieces

1 (15oz. can) Garbonzo beans, rinsed and drained

1 medium onion diced

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tblsp curry powder

1 Tblsp. Sriracha

salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

2 Tblsp. butter

2 Tblsp olive oil

1/2 cup chicken stock or broth

1 cup coconut milk, (not cream of coconut)

In a large non-stick frying pan over medium-high heat melt the butter and add the olive oil. Dry the chicken meat and brown in batches, making sure not to overcrowd the meat, or it won’t get brown. Place on a warm plate, and saute the onion for 1-2 minutes until soft. Add the garlic, curry powder, Sriracha, and salt and pepper. Add in the chicken, chicken stock, and beans, cover and cook on medium-low heat for 5-6 minutes. Stir in the coconut milk. Serve with brown or white rice, I prefer brown rice.

For rice:

1 3/4 low-salt chicken stock or broth

1 cup brown rice

Bring rice and stock to a boil and reduce heat to low. Cook for 40-50 minutes until soft. Add in 2 Tblsps. fresh chopped parsley.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2010 in Meats

 

5 responses to “Chicken Curry

  1. pam devault

    March 23, 2010 at 12:59 am

    just found your blog, your food sounds good, your welcome to come by my blog and become a follower and get in on the $45 CSN giveaway! and check out my new book!

     
    • cakebaker35

      March 23, 2010 at 5:38 am

      Thank you Pam! I’ll check out you blog and thank you for comment’s!!! 🙂
      Amanda 🙂

       
      • cakebaker35

        March 23, 2010 at 8:08 pm

        Hello Pam
        COuld you pleas resend your blog address? You can email me or poet it here. I can’t get it to come up… Thanks

        Amanda 🙂

         
  2. Lynn

    March 23, 2010 at 1:39 am

    I hope you feel better soon! The curry chicken recipe looks great and I LOVE strawberry cake so of course that caught my attention. Strawberries and buttercream…what’s not to like? I’m sure the recipients will love the cake :>)

     
    • cakebaker35

      March 23, 2010 at 5:35 am

      Hello Lynn,
      Thank you for your kind comments! 🙂 Thank you for reading my blog! 🙂
      Amanda…

       

Leave a Reply

 
