RSS

Deep Dish Pizza and Purple Cake?

24 Mar

Hello everyone, 

My cake delivery today went well. The place I was taking the cake to called me Monday morning and let me know what the lady would like. Well, it wasn’t strawberry cake!!! Her favorite color is purple and she loves cats, so what I decided to do was make a cat shaped cake instead. I put the strawberry cake in the freezer for another time. I’ll take it to the nursing home next week, I have a cake for Friday there. Well back to today, I made a white cake and added purple food coloring to the batter. My mom thought it sounded yucky, but I had to do something!! I would have added some blueberries or blackberries if I had them. I baked the cake after the lady called me and didn’t get it done until 2am. I’m a night owl anyway, and it drives my husband crazy that I stay up so late. The lady the cake was for wasn’t there, she was what they called out in the community. This place is for mentally challenged adults, and I’m sorry to say I’m not all sure what they do there, I just make cakes for them! I can’t believe I made the cake in one day! It normally takes me 2 days, I have carpel tunnel in my hands. That’s part of the reason I only make cakes for charity. My hands will hurt after a while, I can’t squeeze the piping bag if the frosting is to stiff. I have one more cake for this week and it’s at the VA. He likes angel food cake and likes fishing. I decided to make a 7-minute frosting for the cake. I don’t like decorating with whipped cream, it’s just to messy. My husband will be delivering the cake for me, he works next to the Va and always takes them for me. I try to make the cakes easy for him to deliver, he doesn’t like if I make the cake to close to the edge of the cake board. He HATES’s the covering we use to wrap the cakes, he always complains about it. The wind where we live like’s to blow really hard and if we don’t hold the cake and wrapping just right it would blow away!!! I’m not kidding either!!!    

I did see my Dr. yesterday,  I do have shingles and it hurts like crazy!!! She put me on an antibiotic, so hopefully this will clear up soon. She said it could take 2 weeks to 6 months to heal Yikes!!! I’m praying it will heal fast!!!  I’m only 34 years old, but my body thinks it’s 90!!! Most people my age don’t get this, but I have always had wierd thing’s. I’m seeing the hemotaligist Thursday and I’m a bit nervous about what they found out. I’m glad my husband will be there and so will my mom… 

Ok enough for now, here’s a recipe for a deep dish pizza I like to make, the pizza dough is Wolfgang Puck’s recipe I take no credit for it!!! It’s a really good pizza dough!!! Sometime I’ll post my grandmother’s recipe for crazy crust pizza. It taste’s great and is so easy to make!! Enjoy everyone!!! 🙂 

DEEP DISH PIZZA DOUGH: 
1 tblsp. active dry yeast 
1 tsp. sugar 
1-cup warm water (110-115 degrees) 

3 cups all-purpose flour 

1 tsp. salt 

1 tblsp. olive oil 

In small bowl, dissolve the yeast & sugar in ¼ cup of the water. In a medium bowl add remaining ingredients & the yeast mixture. On floured surface knead the dough about 10-15 minutes the dough should be firm & smooth. Cover the dough with a clean damp towel & let rise in a warm spot for 30 minutes. (When ready, the dough will stretch as it is lightly pulled. 

TOPPING: 

1 lb. ground meat, any kind 

4 cups cheddar cheese 

4 cloves garlic, minced 

1 small onion, chopped 

1 (8 oz.) package sliced mushrooms 

1 tblsp. butter 

1 (8oz can) tomato sauce 

½ tsp. red pepper flakes 

1 tsp. salt 

2 tsp. dried Italian seasoning 

In a large skillet cook the meat, onion, & garlic until meat is browned & onion & garlic is tender; set aside. 

Place mushrooms & butter in a microwavable bowl, & cook until soft; set aside. 

In a separate bowl, mix the tomato sauce, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, & Italian seasoning; set aside. 

Stretch & pull dough to fit a 12-½ inches in diameter deep-dish pizza pan, or a 9×13 square pan. Top dough with 1-cup cheese then with prepared sauce, then the meat mixture, mushrooms, & remaining cheese. Bake at 350 until lightly browned & cheese is bubbling. About 40-45 minutes. 

c:\program files (x86)\qualcomm\eudora\attach\Angel Cakes Spring Newsletter 2010.pdf;

If you have trouble opening this email me and I’ll send it to you! Thanks!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2010 in Pizza

 

2 responses to “Deep Dish Pizza and Purple Cake?

  1. MissCat

    March 24, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Hey there! Nice to see your reply on the Wilton fourms. I’ll certainly check out your blog. It looks great.

     
    • cakebaker35

      March 24, 2010 at 7:16 pm

      Thank you Miss Cat for your kind comment’s. I love looking through the Wilton fourums. I love looking at everyone picture’s and I tyr to help out when I can. Thank you for checking out my blog!!
      Amanda 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
