RSS

Mediterranean Easter Menu Part 3

31 Mar

Hello everyone,

Here is my last 2 recipes for my Easter Menu, hope you all enjoy them!!! Happy Easter everyone!!! 🙂

Salmon Dolmas with Avgolemono

1-1/8 lb salmon fillet, skinned

12 bottled grape leaves, rinsed of brine and stemmed

1 cup vegetable stock or broth

2 eggs, separated

2 tblsp. lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

1 tblsp. fresh dill chopped

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Cut the salmon into 12 (1-1/2oz) strips, each about 2-1/2 inches long and 1-1/2 inches wide. Wrap each piece in a grape leaf. Place the dolmas seam side down in a shallow baking pan. Drizzle the stock or broth over the dolmas and bake for 6-7 minutes, until fish is firm but not mushy. Meanwhile, in a bowl, beat the egg yolks and lemon juice together until frothy. In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until soft peaks form and fold in the yolks. Remove the dolmas to warm individual plates. Pour the stock into a small saute pan. Add the egg mixture to the warm stock, whisking constantly until thickened, 1-2 minutes, whisk in the dill.  Pour the sauce over the dolmas, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Serve at once, garnished with lemon wedges.

Honey and Orange Cheesecake

For the Crust:

2 cups cinnamon graham crackers, finely crushed

1/3 cup granulated sugar

4-5 tblsp. unsalted butter, melted

To make crust, mix all ingredient’s together well and press into a 10-inch springform pan and set aside.

For Filling:

1-1/2 lb. cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup sour cream

3/4 cup honey

6 eggs, at room temp.

zest of one orange

1 tsp orange extract

Beat cream cheese until creamy, add sour cream beat until creamy, about 2 minutes. Add eggs one at a time until mixed in, scraping down the bowl occasionally. Beat in the honey,  zest and extract. Pour onto crust. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour 15 minutes, just until center is set. Turn off oven and leave in there for 2 hours. Chill overnight, cheesecake will firm up overnight.

I have 2 cakes this week, there both for a nursing home, one has to be a diabetic cake. If it turns out well I’ll post the recipe. I’m not sure what cake I’ll making for Easter (decorated cake I mean) I thought about making a sheet cake and baking a 3-D lamb cake, then I’ll give it to the mission. The only places I think we’ll be going on Sunday will be to church them we will go out to eat somewhere, who know’s thing’s may change??? As you can see from my posts I have already made the thing’s we liked to eat for Easter.  Most of my family wouldn’t eat what I have made. There all pretty picky and like to eat the same thing’s on every holiday. I get tired of that, Ray and I like to try new recipes and different flavor’s. Well I better go for now, I need some sleep, hope you are doing well and have great day tomorrow!!! 

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2010 in Easter Menu

 

Leave a Reply

 
