RSS

Fudge Ripple Cake and a crazy week!!!

09 Apr

Hello everyone,

I hope you all had a wonderful Easter? Mine was ok, we decided to go to my grandmother’s house. My mom’s church was going to have an Easter dinner, but canceled due to the pastor’s wife being sick with shingles. My mom thought we were coming to their church dinner, (Ray and I go to a different church) I told her no. We had decided to go to just our church then go to a movie or something. I don’t understand why she always assumes we are coming over to her church activities. They never come to any of the one’s we invite them to. Like my niece’s and nephew have been in the Christmas program the last 2 years. I have asked my parent’s to come, but they never do. We have no desire to go to my mom’s church we are happy where we are at. I wish she would just accept it and leave us alone about it.  I guess I sound mean, but I have no other place to express my feeling’s, other than talking to Ray and my counselor about all this.  No I don’t think my mom read’s my blog. If she does she’s gonna be mad at me for talking about all this on here. My mom’s husband wrote something on his facebook page that upset me also, I won’t put down what he said here, but my feeling’s have been really hurt by this. I don’t know what I’m going to do about it. I guess I’ll cross that bridge later….

I have had a crazy week, I have made 4 cakes this week,  3 needed to be delivered on Monday. I took the cakes before I realized that it was the day after Easter. One cake my husband took to the VA, I made the vet a football cake. The first one I delivered was to the mission. Now I didn’t have to take a cake there, I just decided to make an Easter cake, and yes I know I was a day late I just wanted to make a cake for them. The other cake went to a nursing home.  Wednesday I had another cake to go to hospice, and Wednesday was a bad day to start with. The plastic we use to wrap the cakes with gave me a lot of trouble that morning. Can you imagine a grown woman slamming that thing on the counter and swearing??? Well that’s what I did, had quite a meltdown, I finally got the stuff to unroll like it should. Then on my way to the hospice place I knew I was going to be late, (they want the cakes there by 1oam) I called them and they were fine with that. Now, I would have made it more on time but I missed the exit and was 2 exits away before I realized I had even missed it!!! I had to double back and finally made it by 10:15. It was a bad day all around. I didn’t get much sleep the night before and was really tired. I don’t have anymore cakes this week. I have 3 cakes next week and they will be easy to make. It’s been a wierd month, 2 of the Vet’s I was making cakes for have passed away. There birthday’s were on the 21st, they didn’t die the same day either. Wierd all around!!!

My health still isn’t very good, the shingles are coming back. UHHH!!!! My Dr. did call in another antibiotic for me. I see her next week, then she’ll be back to her native country (India) for 2-3 months. I am really going to miss her! I asked her if she was coming back and she said of yes! She said I’m not quitting my job, she just needs some time off. She has been my Dr. for 4-5 years, she’s never taken this much time off before. I don’t remember who will be taking her place for a while, she had a long different name.

Here’s another cake for everyone, I made this one up awhile ago. I just found it today while going through some stuff. It’s really good!!!

Fudge Ripple Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting:

1 stick unsalted butter (4oz.), softened

1-1/2 cups granulated sugar

2 large eggs, at room temperature

1-2/3 cups all-purpose flour

1-1/2 tsp. baking soda

1-1/2 cups water

6 tblsp. buttermilk powder***

2/3 cup baking cocoa

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tblsp. plus 1 tsp. vanilla extract, divided

1 (8oz.) package cream cheese, softened

2 tblsp. butter, softened

1 tblsp. cornstarch

1 (14oz) can sweetened condensed milk

1 large egg

Using 2 (9-inch) round cake pans, line with parchment paper, then grease and flour the paper; set aside. Sift the flour, baking soda, salt, powdered buttermilk, and baking cocoa together; set aside. Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy, beating well. Add the eggs one at a time beating well after each addition. Scraping down the bowl as needed. Add flour mixture alternating with the water. Blend in the 1 tblsp. vanilla. Pour batter evenly into pans’ set aside. In another medium bowl, beat the cream cheese, 2 tblsp. butter, and cornstarch at medium speed until creamy; gradually add the sweetened condensed milk beating well. Add the 1 egg; beat well, and stir in the 1 tsp. vanilla. Spoon the cream cheese mixture evenly over the cake batter. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool in pans on wire racks for 10 minutes; remove from pans and peel off the paper. Cool completely before frosting,

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting:

1 (8oz.) package cream cheese, softened

1 stick unsalted butter (4oz.), softened

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

1-1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

3 tblsp. baking cocoa

4 cups sifted powdered sugar

2 tblsp. heavy cream

Beat all ingredient’s together until smooth. Spread frosting on cake layers.

Note: Powdered buttermilk can be found in the baking section. It’s under the Saco brand most of the time.

Enjoy everyone!!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 9, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
