RSS

Apricot Honey Cake and I’m sorry….

10 Apr

Hello everyone,

I’m sorry for my tirade yesterday,  this thing with some of my family member’s hasn’t gotten any better. I think its getting worse… I really don’t know what to do about now. Maybe sometime there will be a solution to the problem. I’m feeling pretty low right now… I went to my hair stylist yesterday to get the back of my hair cut shorter. She’s can see how thin my hair has gotten over time. I have a bald spot in the back of my head, you can’t see it yet, it’s still covered by hair on top. This all related to the PCOS and the Sarcoidosis. I loved my hair growing up it’s the only thing about my looks that I liked. It used to be  very thick and was a light brown color. I colored it blonde after I got divorced, that was about 13 years ago??? Wow, so many thing’s have changed since then.  The marriage was bad and ended badly, I was only 19 at the time. I will have to get a wig before to long, I knew this day was coming, just not so soon.. Well enough of my crap for now…

Here’s a recipe I made up a while ago, I hope you all enjoy it…

Apricot Honey Cake:

1 cup honey

3/4 cups unsalted butter, softened (1-1/2 sticks) 6oz.

3 large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup apricot preserves

1 cup all-purpose flour

2-1/4 cups cake flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/3 cup sour cream

Glaze:

1 cup sifted powdered sugar

1 tblsp. unsalted butter, softened

1 tsp. vanilla extract

4-5 tsp. water

pinch of popcorn salt

For cake: Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 10-cup bundt pan and set aside. In a medium bowl sift the flours, salt, baking soda, and baking powder; set aside. Combine the honey and butter and beat until smooth, add eggs one at a time. Scraping bowl as needed. On low-speed add the preserves, the sour cream, and the vanilla. Mix in the flour mixture, until smooth. Pour into prepared baking pan and bake for 50-60 minutes, or until cake tester comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 10 minutes, then turn out onto serving plate. Combine all icing ingredient’s together until smooth. Drizzle over cooled cake. Enjoy everyone!!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 10, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
