RSS

Strawberries and Cream Scones

14 Apr

Hello everyone,

I love strawberries! I came up with this recipe awhile ago, it’s one of my favorites!

Strawberries and Cream Scones

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 tblsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

6 tblsp. chilled unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

1 cup chopped strawberries

1 cup heavy cream

Heat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender, until mixture resembles coarse meal. Gently stir in the cream and strawberries. Gently pat out into a circle about 1/2 inch thick. Cut into desired shapes.  Brush top off scones with more cream then sprinkle with course sugar. Bake on an ungreased baking sheets until tops are golden brown. Serve warm with butter and strawberry jam.

I’ll only be making one cake this week for the mentally challenged adults place. They called me today and asked if I was bringing a cake for one of their people today, I said no… Apparently they gave the wrong dates for this young man’s Birthday, I had the understanding it wasn’t until Thursday. Now I called them early yesterday morning to confirm the date of there Birthday’s and to get an idea on what they would like, I had to leave a voicemail message. I never heard back, so I called again before they closed for the day, and I asked about the 2 peoples’ Birthday’s ect… The lady said nothing about the young man’s Birthday being today!!! I said I didn’t know anything about it, she said that’s ok they decided to go and buy him a cake. I was going to make a WWF wrestling cake for him, since that’s what he wanted. Oh well this has been wierd month for me

I hope your all doing well today, I saw my Dr. today and I have another infection, not fun… Family stuff till isn’t settled, I really just don’t know what to do. I feel like I’m being closed off from everyone. If I sound depressed I am, I don’t like it when thing’s go bad with my family. I did get a chance to talk to my dad today, after playing phone tag for a few days. He drives truck and was in California today. Last time I talked to him he was is Texas somewhere. He didn’t know when he would be home, he was hoping to be home this coming weekend. It would be nice to see him..

P.S.  Mad at my husband right now 😦    ggrrr!!!

Until later everyone…

Amanda

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 14, 2010 in Breads

 

Leave a Reply

 
