RSS

Turkey Sloppy Joes

21 Apr

Hello Everyone,

Here’s my take on Sloppy Joes. I can’t eat beef too much, it upsets my stomach a lot. I know a lot of people think ground turkey is gross or taste’s rubbery, but I have never had that problem. Plus it’s leaner and doesn’t cost as much as beef does.

Turkey Sloppy Joes

1 lb. ground turkey

1 tbslp. olive oil

1/2  medium onion, chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 medium green pepper, chopped

1 (14oz.) can diced, no salt added tomatoes, undrained

1  (8oz) can no salt added tomatoes sauce

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup ketchup

1 tblsp. Worcestershire sauce

Toasted bread to serve on or with. I like onion style buns with this, very tasty.

In a large skillet over medium high heat, brown the turkey with the olive oil, onions, garlic, and green pepper. Add remaining ingredient’s and simmer for 10 minutes until sauce is thickened, and onion and peppers are tender. 

As I write this recipe it sound so good, I haven’t made it for awhile, might make it this weekend. Yummy!!!

I have 2 cake to make this week, one for a nursing home the other for hospice. I only had one cake planned for this week, but we had a family crisis come up and my mom who is also an Angel Baker can’t bake her cake this week, so I said I would take care of it for her.  I don’t want to talk about what happened yet, not sure I ever will here anyway. It’s really bad is all I can say and don’t know what’s going to happen. The only thing I will say is that I hope this person will give their problems to the Lord and stop trying it on their own. I can’t make it one day without Jesus, I would be lost without him. For some of you I know you have no idea what I’m talking about, I’ll try to explain the best I can. I am a Born Again Christian, that means I have asked Jesus to live in my heart and have devoted my life to Him and His work, you can to!!!  Jesus has healed me from so many thing’s in my life, that I don’t even know where to start. I just know he has been with me through some very difficult times in my life. I’m not perfect and have done some thing’s I’m not proud of, you know those kind of thing’s you wish you could go back and change. You know what they say hindsight is always better than foresight! Maybe someday I put it all down in a book, my husband keeps telling me I should. When Ray and I met I was 25 and he kept telling me I have lived more life in 25 years (I’m almost 35 will be in June) than most people live in their whole lifetime.  I’m not sure about that, I know a lot of people have thing’s far worse than I do, so we’ll see maybe…

Well I need to go for now, I hope you all have a wonderful day!!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 21, 2010 in Meats

 

Leave a Reply

 
