RSS

Apple-Oatmeal Crumbles

23 Apr

Hello everyone,

Here’s an old recipe I found in what we called the BIG BLUE BOOK. This was a cookbook of sorts of all the recipes that we would clip from newspapers, magazines, ect… I don’t remember where this recipe came from, it was just in there, and it’s really good!!! The book after 30 some years of use finally gave up and died, fell apart I should say!!! Don’t worry we kept all the great recipes we had in there, this is one of them.

Apple-Oatmeal Crumbles

1 cup oatmeal, quick cooking

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup dark brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. allspice

1/2 tsp. baking soda

3 tblsp. vegetable oil

3 tblsp. maple syrup

1 cup applesauce

1/3 cup finely chopped dried apricots, soaked in hot water for 10 minutes

1/3 cup golden raisins, soaked in warm water for 10 minutes

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, grease a 8×8-inch square baking pan. In a mixing bowl mix together the oatmeal, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, allspice, and baking soda mix until crumbly.  Stir in the vegetable oil, and maple syrup, press all into pan (reserve 1/2 cup for topping).  Bake for 10 minutes, then spread the applesauce on. Top with the apricots, raisins, and with reserved 1/2 crumb mixture. Bake for an additional 15 minutes, until golden brown.

Hope your all having a good day, I delivered my cake to the nursing home today. I will be delivering a cake to hospice tomorrow, I decided to make a strawberry cake with cream cheese frosting. Plus I am also baking a humming-bird cake for my husband’s work tonight. They are having a potluck tomorrow to welcome the new people who are working there. I have a few other thing’s I’m baking tonight, banana bread, chocolate cupcakes, and a banana pies. I know what your thing why are you baking so much right??? Well some thing’s will be going to other people, plus I trying out a recipe to enter into the FN banana contest, I need to get them done tonight my banana’s need to be used before they go bad!!!

Well until another day everyone….

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 23, 2010 in Cookies

 

Leave a Reply

 
