RSS

Cake for the mission this week!

05 May

Hello everyone,

Our director of Angel Cakes called me yesterday and asked if I would make a cake for the people at the mission, for Friday!. I said of course I would! They are having a graduation for all the people who have completed their program. Most have had family, drug, and alcohol problems to work through. The mission does great work with all the people, and they love Angel Cakes. The person I talked to kept saying how much they love what we do for them. It really makes me feel good to hear from people like that, really made my day!!!  🙂

I was finally able to make it to one of my Master Canning classes yesterday! We did labs on low and no sugar canning. My group made raspberry jam with honey, yummy!!! Honey is sweeter than sugar so it only takes half of what a recipe would call for. Like if a recipe calls for 1 cup sugar you can replace it with 1/2 cup honey. It’s best if you can buy local honey and asked the grower what there bee’s feed on, it make’s a huge difference in what the honey taste’s like.  The best thing about honey is that it never goes bad, fresh local honey will get hard and crystalize, you can heat it up in warm water and use it for your recipe’s. The only bad thing about honey is don’t give it to infant’s, pregnant and/or nursing mothers, and anyone with a compromised immune system. It act’s just like Clostridium botulinum in there system’s and they can get very sick or can die.

Well I better go for now and make cake!! 🙂

 I’ll let you know later how it worked out and I have a lot more recipes I’ll be posting this month…

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
