RSS

Blueberry Coffee Cake with Lemon Icing

13 May

Hello everyone,

I made up this recipe for a river boating company I made bread for. They had one person who didn’t like bread and they asked me to make some kind of coffee cake for him. This recipe is a combination of 2 different recipe’s. I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Blueberry Coffee Cake:

Filling:

1-1/4 cup toasted walnuts

1/3 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 small jar apricot preserves, I prefer Smucker’s Simply Fruit.

Cake:

2-1/2 cups sifted cake flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup (2 sticks 8oz.) unsalted butter, softened***

1-1/3 cup granulated sugar

3 large eggs, at room temperature***

1-1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1-1/3 cup sour cream, at room temperature***

2 cup fresh blueberries, clean and dry. ***

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and grease and flour a 9-inch springform pan or 2 8x8x2-inch squares pans.

To make filling, place the nuts, brown sugar, cinnamon, and preserves in a food processor fitted with steal blade. Pulse 6-8 times, until nuts are chopped. Remove from bowl and set aside.

To Make Cake:

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. Cream the butter and sugar together, add the vanilla then the eggs, one at a time beating well after each addition. Add dry ingredient’s alternately with the sour cream, scraping down bowl occasionally. Gently fold in he blueberries. Spoon 1/2 of the batter into prepared pan or/pans, then add 1/3 cup filling; repeat process until all of the batter and filling is used up. Making sure that the batter is the last layer and all of filling is covered. Bake 9-inch for 45-50 minutes,  bake the 8×8-inch pans for 25-30 minutes. Test cake with a cake tester and they should come out almost clean, some jelly may cling to the tester. Cool completely and drizzle with lemon icing.

Lemon Icing:

2 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sifted powdered sugar

2 tsp. lemon juice

1 stop. milk

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract.

Mix ingredient’s together until smooth.

NOTE*** Only leave out ingredient’s for no longer than 1/2 hour. To make butter soften faster cut into cubes, this also works well for cream cheese! If using frozen blueberries do not thaw them, add them right from the freezer into the cake batter. Costco blueberries work really well they flash freeze their berries so they don’t stick together. 

I delivered my  motorcycle cake to the young man today and they loved it! It turned out really well, compared to my last one. Today I’ll be baking 2 cakes that need to be delivered Saturday. I decided to make one cake, it’s for a lady, a flower-pot with roses. The cake will be  pineapple cake with a maraschino cherry filling. The other will be chocolate marble cake with chocolate frosting and filling. Since this one is for a man I’m  making a few chocolate candy melt decorations.

Well I better go for now and bake cakes!  I hope you enjoy the coffee cake recipe!!

Amanda 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2010 in Cakes

 

3 responses to “Blueberry Coffee Cake with Lemon Icing

  1. Lynn

    May 14, 2010 at 12:21 am

    Glad the guy liked his motorcycle cake! The flower pot cake sounds really interesting–the pineapple/cherry combo has my mouth watering! Thanks for sharing the coffee cake recipe!

     
    • cakebaker35

      May 14, 2010 at 4:22 am

      Thank you Lynn! The flower pot is a cake pan it’s flat but it looks like a flower pot. It’s one of my favorite pans to use. I can make whatever flowers I want on it. I had a pineapple cake mix and thought a cherry filling would go good with it. I allways doctor up my cakes, I use whole milk, juice, sour cream makes them taste more homemade. I get alot of great tips from the Wilton FB fan page plus the Discussion Forum.

       

Leave a Reply

 
