RSS

Banana Whoppie Pies

19 May

Hello everyone,

I came across this recipe in a Martha Stewart magazine some time ago. I have made them a several times, since my husband leaves in a constant supply on banana’s!  Most of you know who follow my blog know what I mean!!! LOL!!! I sent this with my husband to his work one day and they loved them!!! My husband sent me several emails that people sent him at work and told me how much they liked them!

Banana Whoppie Pies:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2. tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 cup mashed banana (from 1 large over-ripe banana)

1/2 cup sour cream

1 stick unsalted butter, softened (4 oz.)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp. pur vanilla extract

2 packages (8-oz. each) cream cheese, softened

1 cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degree. Line to baking sheets with parchment paper. Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a bowl. Combine banana and sour cream in another bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar with a mixer on medium-high speed, until pale and creamy, about 3 minutes. Add egg and 1/2 tsp. vanilla, beating until incorporated. Add banana mixture in 2 additions, alternating with flour mixture. Drop batter onto parchment paper with a tablespoon. (In the recipe it says to use a pastry bag, but I skipped that step.) Bake until edges are golden, about 12 minutes. Slide parchment , with cookies, onto wire racks. Let cool. (Unfilled cookies can be stored for up to 1 day.) Beat cream cheese and powdered sugar, and remaining 1/2 tsp. vanilla with a mixer on medium speed until smooth, about 2 minutes. Pipe or spoon 1 tablespoon cream cheese mixture onto the flat surface of half the cookies. Sandwich with remaining cookies. Dust with powdered sugar and serve immediately.

I received a thank you card in the mail today from the nursing home I bake for a lot. It said that they loved the cake and that the husband of the lady I made the cake for had 2 pieces of cake! I love getting cards from people it made my day today!!!

I hope your all doing well!!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 19, 2010 in Cookies

 

Leave a Reply

 
