RSS

Ronald McDonald House baking.

22 May

Hello Everyone,

Yesterday I baked at the Ronald McDonald house and had a lot of fun! They have a huge kitchen! They had 2 of everything, 2 smoothtop ovens, 2 dishwashers, ect.. The people who work there are so nice and very helpful. I decided to make chocolate chip cookies since they already had a group come in the night before and bake cupcakes. One lady who was staying there starting talking to me about her baby, she has been in the hospital for 3 months! I felt so bad for her I really didn’t know what to say. She talked to me about other thing’s also and I realized even through I have been sick I have a pretty good life with Ray. Even though we can’t have kids, we are doing ok compared to other’s. We thank Jesus everyday for what He has blessed us with.

Food for thought: Instead of thinking about how bad thing’s are for you, take a look around and see others. I see more and more people on the side of the street with signs asking for help. I want to help them, but I wonder if they will just use it for drugs, drinking and or smoking. I know some of them most likely really need the help.  I guess that’s why I work with Angel Cakes, I am giving back to others who really need it. I couldn’t do any of this without my husband!!!

Here is the cookie recipe I used. It was given to me by the director of Angel Cakes. A few months ago when I was really sick she came to my house and it’s along ways from town and her home. She brought me lunch and these amazing cookies! They were softer then the chocolate chip cookies I make. I love soft cookies, hard ones hurt my teeth. It meant a lot to me that she would do something like this for me. Sniff, crying right now…

 Amazing Chocolate chip cookies:

2/3 cup shortening

2/3 cup butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup packed light brown sugar

2 large eggs

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

3-1/2 cups Gold Medal Flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

12oz. semisweet chocolate chips

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Mix shortening, butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla. Stir in remaining ingredient’s. Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls 2-inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 10-13 minutes, rotating pans halfway through baking.

I hope you enjoy them!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 22, 2010 in Cookies

 

Leave a Reply

 
