RSS

Memorial Weekend & Food Network Magazine

02 Jun

Hello Everyone,

It’s been quite a weekend for me. A lot going on and some huge family problems, but I won’t post too much about it here. All I will say is that some family connections have been permanently severed and it’s has made me a little sad and a little relived. I feel like a huge weight has been taken off my shoulders. Ray had 4 days off for Memorial weekend, and on Friday I baked at the Ronald McDonald house. I love going there, the people are so nice and they always have everything there I need to bake! I baked peanut butter cookies, I’ll post the recipe below. After baking we went to the zoo and it was really nice to go just by ourselves, although there were 4 school busses of kids there, thank goodness I didn’t have to keep track of them! lol!!! It was great to spend the time and read what the animals eat and where they come from. It’s been years since we have been there, it was a nice day. Saturday we finally went to see Alice in Wonderland in 3-D, it was great! Then we did some shopping. Sunday we finally made it to church and afterwords our life group and one other group was having a picnic in the park. Ray and I played boccee ball, it was my first time and we had a lot of fun. Ray and his team-mate won the game. Monday we just stayed home, I know boring!!!

I haven’t tried to many recipes from the May issue of the Food Network magazine, I am going through withdrawal on the steroids and I have no desire to eat.  There were only a few we tried. The first one is on page 74 the Meaty Quesadillas, Ray really like these but I didn’t. The next recipe is on page 77 the Poppy Seed-Chicken Pitas, this recipe was really good. I ended up buying a roasted chicken and using dried cranberries and I forgot the poppy seeds!! Ack!!! Other than that the dressing on the chicken was really good. The next recipe is on page 79 the Curried Salmon Cakes. I used canned salmon instead of fresh, to expensive for the fresh kind. I forgot the mango salad, uhhh I guess  I have been tired… The last recipe I tried is on page 146 the Jalapeno-Cormeal Pancakes, my husband was gone out-of-town and wouldn’t have eaten them so I ate them by myself. I had to use yellow cornmeal, I couldn’t find blue cornmeal. The problem I had was the batter was way to thin and my first 2 pancakes didn’t look like the ones in the picture at all. I ended up adding another 1/2 cup flour to the batter and that helped. They still didn’t look like the one’s in the picture, but the were not paper-thin like the first 2. Maybe the blue cornmeal had something to do with thickening of the batter better than the yellow cornmeal, I don’t know… Don’t think I’ll be making these again, they didn’t sit to well on my stomach anyway.

I have 3 cakes this week. The first one is for a baby leaving the NICU after being there for 3 or 4 months! Wow, must have been a really sick baby for a while..  I don’t know yet if it’s a boy or girl. I am going to use the Wilton baby pan that is really cute! I have 2 cakes to deliver Saturday, one to a nursing home and the other to the VA, I haven’t decided what to make for them yet.

Heres the Peanut Butter cookie recipe:

2/3 cup peanut butter

2/3 cup unsalted butter

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup packed light brown sugar

2 large eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

12 oz. peanut butter chips

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Mix peanut butter, butter, sugars, eggs, and vanilla. Stir in remaining ingredient’s. Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls 2-inches apart on ungreased baking sheets. Bake 10-13 minutes until lightly browned. As you can tell this is similar to the chocolate chip cookie recipe and it is, I just changed a few thing’s. Enjoy!

Until  next time..

Amanda 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

 
