RSS

Hashbrown Casserole, and NICU cake.

04 Jun

Hello everyone,

It’s been a slow week for me, I delivered a cake to the NICU today. It was for a baby boy who has been there since January. He is being released today. It was my first time baking a cake for the NICU. I went on Wilton’s Discussion Forum to ask some questions about what they thought I should do. In my last post I thought about baking a cake in the shape of a baby, but then though that might be to wierd for the young single mom. I didn’t want to freak her out or anything. I remember seeing a baby cake on Cake Wrecks that looked so real that it was freaky. So I posted a question on the Discussion Forum and wanted to get some other people’s advice before I went ahead and baked, I got several replies. Most of them said not to bake any cake at all. Some said it was because they have had children in the NICU and it’s just not the right time to bring in a cake, they were to sensitive to celebrate anything. I can understand from that point, I have never had kids and I told them that my husband and I couldn’t have kids.  One person sounded really mad at me for even thinking about baking a cake. This person had 2 kids in the NICU in the past. I told them I was really sorry and hoped all is well with them now. I decided to make an open book cake with some blue baby pins, rattles, bottles, and a baby plastic boy. I wrote on one side these words, (Babies fill our world with joy, and blessing’s beyond compare, babies are a gift of love, yes a gift that is so dear.) http://www.wilton.com/idea/A-Letter-Perfect-Baby-Cake    Here is the picture of the cake, I didn’t make it look exactly like it, since it was for a boy I made it with white, baby blue, and light green and left off the flowers.  Anyway I hope the young mother liked the cake and I hope the baby is well. I have 2 more cakes to get done tonight, I have them baked already I just need to decorate them.
Here’s a recipe for a hashbrown casserole that I made awhile ago, it’s really good for breakfast or anytime of the day!!!
 
Hashbrown Casserole:
1,  (2 lb.) package of frozen shredded hashbrown potatoes, thawed
1, (8oz.)  container sour cream
2, (10-3/4oz.) cans condensed cream of mushroom soup
1, (8oz) package sliced mushrooms
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, divided
1-1/2 lbs. sausage, cooked and crumbled
1/4  (2 oz.) butter
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1 tsp. dried thyme
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In skillet cook mushrooms with the 1/4 cup butter until soft, set aside (do not drain). Grease a 9×13-inch baking pan, in a large bowl mix together the hashbrowns, sausage, mushrooms, and 1-1/2 cups of the cheddar cheese. In a medium bowl mix together the cans of soup, sour cream, pepper, and dried thyme. Pour over hashbrown mixture and mix together. Pour mixture into prepared baking pan. Cover with foil and bake for 40 minutes, then uncover and bake for 25-35 minutes longer until mixture is bubbly. Top with remaining cheddar cheese and bake for another 5-10 minutes, until cheese is melted. Serves 12-14 people.
Until next time…
Amanda 🙂
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 4, 2010 in Breakfast

 

Leave a Reply

 
