RSS

Brown Sugar Pecan Shortbread

12 Jun

Hello everyone,

I have had a very busy week with 4 cakes and baking at the Ronald McDonald house.  The cake for the foster child on Tuesday went ok, I had a hard time getting a hold of them on the telephone. I found there house and no one would come to the door! I called and kept getting the answering machine, well in the meantime my bladder was getting to full!! Lol, so I left and found a gas station, down the road and just as I was getting back into my car the foster-father called me and said he was sorry he must have been asleep out back with their babies, they didn’t have a doorbell either, wierd… Anyway I finally got the cake delivered and went home. I got the other 3 cakes done and delivered with no problems. On Friday I baked at the Ronald McDonald house and baked some Pecan Shortbread, and a couple of hours later the lady that helps out there emailed me and said the people loved the shortbread!!! Today I received a thank you card in the mail for one of the nursing home cakes I made last week. It’s nice to hear from people!!!

Here is the recipe I used, it’s from a cookie book called (The Good Cookie) by Tish Boyle. I love her cookies they are very good!!!

Brown Sugar Pecan Shortbread:

1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup chopped pecans, toasted

1/4 tsp. salt

1-1/4 sticks, unsalted butter, softened

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1 tblsp. bourbon, or water, (I used water because I didn’t want to bring alcohol into the house).

1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Garnish:

Course sugar for sprinkling

1/3 cup chopped pecans

Heat an oven to 325 degrees. Line a 9-inch square pan with aluminum foil, and extend the sides, this makes it easy to lift the bars out of the pan. In a mixing bowl, beat the butter, sugars, bourbon or water, and vanilla. Blend in the flour, salt and pecans. Pat dough into the prepared baking pan and sprinkle with course sugar and pecans. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until the edges are golden brown. Cool on wire rack for 15-20  minutes. Cut into bars. Enjoy!!!

Until next time everyone

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2010 in Cookies

 

Leave a Reply

 
