RSS

Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Cookies

14 Jun

Hello Everyone,

I have had a slow weekend which is nice for a change! lol..  Saturday Ray and I didn’t do anything, it was 12am before we got home from the airport Friday night. He had a good week in San Diego, he even bought me a cookbook called, Taste the Fun Cookbook 2009’s Award Winning Recipes, it’s from the San Diego County Fair. They have so many different cookoffs and competitions down there, it’s given me a lot of idea’s!!! Today we went to church and over a week ago my husband brought home some Amish bread starter from work. I followed the instructions and this morning before church I finished making the starter and baking the bread, it tastes wonderful! I gave away three bags of starters to some friends at church. I don’t know how to make the starter I’ll have to look around and see if I can find it. I do have 3 different Amish cookbooks and I’ll have to do some internet searching also. 

I have only 2 cakes this week! 1 is for the mission and it’s a 11×18 sheet cake and I make 24 cupcakes. It takes 4 cakes mixes and it does take some time to make, but I love to bake for the mission! It’s my first mission cake for a while, I haven’t baked one for them for at least 4-5 months. I have to deliver it on Thursday and I have 1 6-inch cake for a nursing home, that one will be an easy one to do.

On Wednesday I have a University of Idaho canning class. We are having a class about honey, so I’m thinking of something different to make. I want to make something sweet ,of course and something savory. Last time I was there I cooked some carrots in a crockpot with some honey, lemon juice, and thyme and they all loved them. Ok I need to tell a story here, my husband needed to go to town and run some errands, I asked him to go to the store and buy me about 6 lemons and 3-lbs. of carrots. Well he comes home from Costco with a 5-lb. bag of lemons and a  10-lb. bag of carrots I thought ack!!!! What am I going to do with all this!! He has a problem with doing this all the time, he bought a huge bag of oranges about 4 months ago and only one went rotten and it smelled so bag!!! I have cleaned the frig about 4 times and I can still smell a faint whiff of it. I told him NO MORE BIG BAGS OF VEGETABLES!!! Only if I need them to make a big cake or am making a huge family dinner. He has promised to not do this anymore… lol  I still can’t believe he did that!!! 

I can’t remember where I found this cookie recipe, it’s a bit different but they taste really good. I’m thinking of making them the next time I bake for Ronald McDonald house next month. So here it is…

Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Cookies:

2/3 cup unsalted butter, softened

2/3 cup brown sugar

2 large eggs

1-1/2 cups old-fashioned oats

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1, 6-oz bag dried sweetened cranberries

2 cups white chocolate chips, I like to use Ghirardelli chocolate chips

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Put cranberries in a bowl and pour boiling water just to cover, and let sit for 10 minutes; drain and set aside. Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add eggs mixing well after each addition. Combine the oats, flour, baking soda, and salt in another bowl. Add to butter mixture in several additions, mixing well after each addition. Stir in cranberries and white chocolate chips.  Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on wire rack. Makes approximately 2-1/2 dozen cookies.

Enjoy everyone!!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 14, 2010 in Cookies

 

Leave a Reply

 
