RSS

Turkey Meatloaf with Cranberry Sauce

23 Jun

Hello Everyone,

This is a recipe I made up awhile ago, the Cranberry sauce is a version of Cheff Tod English’s cranberry sauce. I just change a few thing’s here and there… So if you want something different besides a roasted turkey a beef meatloaf this one in a good one to try. Also if you want something simple for Thanksgiving. I know it’s still several months before the actual day, but meatloaf is good anytime!!! 

Turkey Meatloaf with Cranberry Sauce:

1 lb. ground turkey

1 lb. ground turkey sausage

2 cups fresh white bread crumbs

2 large eggs

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 medium yellow onion, minced

1 (14.5oz can) diced tomatoes, undrained

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. fresh cracked black pepper

1 tsp. ground sage

1 tsp. dried oregano

1 tsp. dried marjoram

1 tsp. dried parsley

2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 2-quart baking dish or a large loaf pan. In a bowl, combine all ingredient’s together and place into prepared baking dish. Top with cranberry sauce (you will only need about half of the cranberry sauce, recipe below). Bake uncovered until cooked through, about 1 hour and 45 minutes or until internal temperature reaches 180 degrees. Let rest for 15 minutes before slicing. Slice and serve with extra cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce:

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 medium red onion, finely chopped

1-inch piece peeled ginger, finely chopped

1 (12 oz.) bag of cranberries

1/4 cup raisins

1/2 cup lemon juice

zest of one lemon

1/4 cup raspberry liquor

2 tbsp. dark brown sugar

2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp. maple syrup

1 tbsp. red wine vinegar

2 cups cranberry-raspberry juice

1 cinnamon stick

1/4 cup ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup chopped toasted pecans or walnuts

Place a large saucepan over medium heat; when hot add oil. Add onion and ginger and cook for 1 minute. Stir in cranberries, lemon juice, lemon zest, raisins, raspberry liquor, sugar, balsamic vinegar, maple syrup and red wine vinegar. Cook on medium-low heat until syrupy and reduced by half, about 10 minutes. Add cranberry-raspberry juice, cinnamon stick, nutmeg, cayenne, nuts, and salt. Simmer until thickened, 12-15 minutes. Remove cinnamon stick and set aside to cool.

I had 2 cakes last week, one was for the mission the other was for a hospice person. The mission cake turned out really good, I made a white cake with vanilla buttercream and sprinkled course colored sugar to decorated the edges. The hospice cake was an elderly man not to far from where I live. I made a carrot cake with a cream cheese pineapple buttercream and decorated it with maraschino cherries and coconut. When I arrived at their house the wife of the man was really surprised with the cake, she said we didn’t expect anything this nice thank you so much!!! Made me feel good anyway, and I hope it made his birthday special…

I have 4 cakes this week! I know wow, my husband says  I make to many cakes and he’s right sometimes I do. My husband delivered one cake to the VA this morning the vet wanted a chocolate cake with whipped cream and I hate icing with whipped cream, because it doesn’t set and the plastic we use to wrap the cakes always hits the sides of the cake and I looks a little messy. I’m not going to take anymore cakes that ask for whipped cream! and I have one more for him to deliver tomorrow to the VA home, this vet wanted white cake with white frosting, and he also likes fishing, so I made him a cake in the shape of a fish! The pan isn’t big enough to hold all the cake batter so I have 6 extra cupcakes that will be going with the cake. I’ll write Happy Birthday on 3 and put 1 candle on the other 3. The one for Friday is for a nursing home lady and my last one is for Saturday and it’s a 6-inch cake another nursing home. I couldn’t make all these cakes without Ray!! I have 1 cake left this month it’s on Monday, it’s for a Vet. I’m baking at the Ronald McDonald house on the 2nd and that will be all for me in July. I have a lot to get ready for the fair. I won’t be baking anything, expect some pies for the pie contest. We’ll see how I feel anyway.. lol..

I know its been awhile since I have written anything, my hand has been hurting. I have carpel tunnel in my right hand and with all the cakes I have been doing it’s wore out my hand! Still have some huge family issues were trying to work through, not with Ray and I, but with other family members. When I know for sure what is going to happen I might write some about it here.

I better go for now I need to get the cake done for tomorrow!

Until next time..

Amanda 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

 
