RSS

Maple Muffins

04 Jul

Hello everyone,

Here is the Maple Muffin recipe I made at the Ronald McDonald house the other day.

Maple Muffins:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 cup whole milk

1/2 cup unsalted butter (4oz.) melted

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1/4 cup sour cream

1 large egg

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Topping:

6 tbsp. all-purpose flour

6 tbsp. light brown sugar

4 tbsp. chopped & toasted pecans or walnuts

1 tsp. cinnamon

4 tbsp. cold unsalted butter

In a large bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, and salt. In another bowl, combine milk, butter, syrup, sourcream, egg and vanilla. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened. Fill greased or paper lined muffins tins 2/3 full. For topping, combine the flour sugar, nuts, and cinnamon, cut in butter until crumbly. Sprinkle over muffins evenly. Bake at 400 degree for 16-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to cool on wire rack. Makes about 16 standard size muffins.

I found this recipe in a Taste of Home baking magazine, I tweaked it a bit. The recipe was submitted by Elizabeth Talbot, Lexington Kentucky. Chopped up bacon would be good is these the next time I make them, my husband would LOVE that!!!

Not much going on for us this weekend, just hanging around the house… Sunday our church is having a combined service at 10am, then I thought we would stop by my grandparent’s house. My great-aunt is in town that I haven’t seen for a while, it will be nice to see her. Were not having any family dinner or anything. I did invite my niece’s and nephew and their mom and her husband to church, then I thought it would be nice to have a picnic in the park with them. They already had plans, so that didn’t work out… Sorry I guess I’m still feeling blue, so many bad family stuff right now, it’s to hard to know what to do about it. All I can hope for is that someday thing’s will change. I sometimes hope the Lord would just take me away… I know I sound depressing, it’s just that the last few holidays have been crap. We all used to get together for every holiday and birthday, but that hasn’t happened in a while. So many changes…

Ray and I are going to just watch the fireworks tomorrow night that they set off in our town, and we have neighbors that set off a lot of fireworks also… We can watch them from out front patio..

Well I’ll write again later…

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 4, 2010 in Breads, Breakfast

 

Leave a Reply

 
