RSS

State Fair Winnings

01 Sep

Hello everyone,

I picked up my entries on Monday, well just the ribbons and tags. I threw away all the breads, cookies, ect… Something really funny happened through. I had entered some cookies called root bear float cookies, and I got an Honorable Mention for them. (Recipe Below) On the back of the tag it said “Great taste, very creative idea. May want to consider making them a little smaller to help with appearance”. When I was entering my stuff several of the kids that were taking stuff back to where the categories were, kept saying they looked really good and wanted to try them. On Monday when I got to the fair the Superintendent said someone took the other 3 cookies that were left on the plate! I just laughed and said that’s ok I was just going to throw them away, she said she asked everyone in her department if they knew what happened and they all said no… So who know’s who took them, I guess they really wanted to try them, but after 8 days sitting on a shelf??? Ewww, they were still wrapped in the plastic the fair provides for our entries, so oh well!! LOL!!! I got 10, 1st places, 16, 2nd places, and 8, 3rd places, I entered 61 items 34 of them placed not bad. Since I was sick and made everything in 2-1/2 weeks!!! I am going to be working on my decorated cakes for the next several months so they are done and out of the way. I already know what the theme is for next year, its “How The West Was Fun”…

I have taken 4 Angel Cakes this month, I’ll talk more about them later. This weekend I am going to be working on a cake for my Grandpa’s Birthday. My aunt is coming from SC, and we have already talked about having a BBQ for him. He has been through a lot with my grandmother being as sick as she is and all the stuff with my other aunt who moved down close to them from another town up north. A lot going on there is all I will say about that…   

 My fever’s are back they haven’t been any higher than 100.4, having a fever everyday really wears me out.  I am very anemic also. A normal iron level is 50 and mine is 15, so far I have been able to tolerate the iron pills the Dr. gave me. I am having a CT on Friday to see if the lesions have spread, I hope they haven’t…

Here is the cookie recipe:

Root Beer Float Cookies:

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, (1 stick) softened

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup crushed root beer candies crushed, about 10 candies

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. cinnamon

2 eggs

Root beer Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

4-5 tsp. root beer

Additional root beer candies, crushed for decorating the tops of cookies

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease cookie sheets lightly with cooking spray. In a large bowl, beat the brown sugar and butter together until fluffy. Stir in remaining ingredient’s, expect the glaze ingredient’s. Drop dough by a teaspoonfuls and bake for 8-12 minutes. Just until they start to brown around the edges. When cookies are cool lightly drizzle icing on top and top with crushed root beer candies.

I hope you all enjoy these!!

Until next time..

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2010 in Cookies

 

2 responses to “State Fair Winnings

  1. weight loss calculator

    September 14, 2010 at 3:24 am

    trying to follow you on twitter but cant find your name

     
    • cakebaker35

      September 14, 2010 at 10:17 am

      Hello, I’m not on Twitter sorry… I just have this blog..

       

Leave a Reply

 
