RSS

Angel Cakes and French bread

13 Sep

Hello Everyone,

I made an Angel cake last week for a mentally challenged adult. I didn’t get to meet him, he wasn’t there when I delivered the cake Friday. I decided to make a puppy for him. When I called the place where he goes I asked the lady that picked up the phone what he would like, she said she didn’t know. Then I asked well is there someone else there that works with him that could tell me??? It was then she started telling me that well he likes gardening, cat’s and dog’s, I said ok sounds good. I don’t know why she told me at first that she didn’t know anything about him, I don’t know weird… I have 3 cakes this week, 2 go to a nursing home and the other one goes to the VA home on Saturday. I have a lady and a man to make cakes for on Wednesday. I’ll have to think about what to do. I need to bake the cakes today, so I guess I better get my thinking cap on!! LOL!! Ray bought me one of the Wilton’s fondant impression mats the other day, it say’s Happy Birthday on it. I want to use that one for the lady’s cakes. I’ll just frost under the fondant with my buttercream then put a small overlay of fondant on top,  I hope it will look the way I am seeing it in my head anyway… For the mans cake I’m just doing to make something with chocolate. I don’t know about the vets cake yet, I haven’t thought that far ahead yet…  

 I haven’t been feeling to well lately. I am back on steroids and what a bummer that is!!! My Drs. nurse called me this morning and said all the blood tests they ran on me didn’t come back very well.. I don’t know about the blood cot in my leg yet. They did an ultrasound last week to see if it had dissolved behind my right knee. I hope they call me back today…

I have been having  A LOT of family problems lately. My aunt was here from SC and we had a family lunch party for my grandfather last week. I didn’t know until after I got there that my brother was coming with his girlfriend and 3 of there young, loud, and snotty kids. Talk about a nightmare situation for me. I don’t want anything to do with my brother. I have forgiven him for my own sanity and health, but that doesn’t mean I want to be around him!!! If  my aunt hadn’t been there I would have left, I am mad at my mom for not at least warning me that he was coming. When I talked to her later about it she just said well he is your brother and he is a part of the family! I said he’s not me brother anymore after what he did to me. Even that day when I went into the kitchen I was waiting behind everyone to get my plate he says really loud HELLO MANDY! It was in a mocking tone of voice and I just wanted to leave. My mother knows how I feel now about my brother, but she won’t do anything about it. You see she is an enabler, she won’t talk to him, because he has always been her favorite she’ll never admit to it, but it’s true. Ok enough of my bitching for now, on to better thing’s!!!

This French Bread recipe is the bread that I won the Idaho Wheat Growers award with at the state fair this year. I was so happy to win, they gave me $50 bucks!!!

French Bread

3-3-1/2 cups bread flour or all-purpose flour

1 tbsp. sugar

1 tsp. salt

1 package regular or quick active dry yeast. (2-1/4 teaspoons) 

1 cup warm water (120 to 130 degrees)

2 tbsp. vegetable oil

Cornmeal

1 egg white

1 tbsp. cold water

Poppy seeds or sesame seeds

In a large bowl, mix 2 cups of the flour, the sugar, salt, and yeast. Add warm water and oil. Beat with an electric mixer on low-speed for 1 minute, scraping bowl frequently. Stir in enough remaining flour, 1/2 at a time, to make a dough easy to handle (dough will be soft). On a lightly floured surface, knead dough about 5 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Grease a large bowl with cooking spray or shortening. Place dough in, turning once to grease all sides. Cover and let rise in a warm place for 1 hour 30 minutes to 2 hours or until dough has doubled in size. ( Rising time is longer than for traditional bread, which gives the typical French bread texture). Dough is ready if indentation remains when touched.  Grease large cookie sheet with cooking spray or with shortening; sprinkle with cornmeal. Gently push fist into dough to deflate; divide in half. On lightly floored surface, roll each half into a 15×8-inch rectangle. Roll dough up tightly, beginning at 15-inch side, to form a loaf. Pinch edge of dough roll to seal. Roll gently roll back and forth to taper ends. Place both loaves on cookie sheet. Cut 1/4-inch-deep slashes across tops of loaves at 2-inch intervals with a sharp knife. Brush loaves with cold water. Let rise uncovered in warm place about 1-hour or until dough has doubled in size. Heat oven to 375 degrees. In a small bowl, mix egg white and 1 tbsp. cold water; brush over loaves. Sprinkle with poppy seeds or sesame seeds. Bake 25-30 minutes or until loaves are golden brown and sound hollow when tapped. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack; cool. 

For Crusty Hard Rolls:

Grease large cookie sheet with shortening or with cooking spay; sprinkle with cornmeal. After deflating dough, divide into 12 equal parts. Shape each part into a ball; place on cookie sheet. Brush rolls with cold water. Let rise uncovered about 1 hour or until dough has doubled in size. Heat oven to 425 degrees. In a small bowl, mix egg white and 1 tbsp. cold water; brush over rolls. Sprinkle with poppy seeds or sesame seeds. Bake 15-20 minutes or until brown. 12 rolls. Recipe by Betty Crocker, Better Baking for Today baking book.

Enjoy!! 🙂

Until next time…

Amanda

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 13, 2010 in Breads

 

Leave a Reply

 
