RSS

Honey History

27 Sep

Hello everyone,

Here is my last post about honey; Honey is as old as written history.

Honey is an organic, natural sugar alternative with no additives that is easy on the stomach, adapts to all cooking processes, and has an indefinite shelf life. I like to make lemon tea with honey when I have a cold/flu. It soothes a sore throat and upset stomach.

Honey History: Honey is as old as written history, dating back to 2100B.C. where it was mentioned in Sumerian and Babylonian cuneiform writings, the Hittite code, and the sacred writings of India and Egypt. It is presumably even older than that. Its name comes from the English (hunig), and it was the first and most widespread sweetener used by man. Legend has it that Cupid dipped his love arrows in honey before aiming at unsuspecting lovers. In Old Testament of the Bible, Israel was often referred to as “The land of milk and honey”. Mead, an alcoholic drink made from honey was called “nectar of the gods”, high praise indeed. Honey was valued and often used as a form of currency, tribute, or offering. In the 11th century A.D., German peasants paid their feudal lords in honey and beeswax Although experts argue whether the honeybee is native to the Americas, conquering Spaniards in 1600 A.D. found native Mexicans and Central Americans had already developed beekeeping methods to produce honey. In days of old, honey has been used not only in food and beverages, but also to make cement, in furniture polishes and varnishes, and for medicinal purposes. Bees perform the vital service of pollinating fruits, legumes, vegetables and other types of food-producing plants in the course of their business of honey production. This info was provided to me by the University Of Idaho extension office and by Peggy Trowbridge Filippone, About.com Guide.

I have 3 cakes this week, 1st one I am getting done today for a veteran. He just wanted a devils food cake with white frosting! Which is unusual we normally make more decorated cakes for the VA home, but not this time. I bought a cake stencil and some chocolate jimmies to use on it. I normally handwrite on the cakes, but I wanted to do something different this time.  My 2nd cake is for my husband’s office. They are having an auction to help raise money for there annual Christmas party. I am making my chocolate cream cake and decorating it with a fall theme. I am molding some chocolate scarecrows and molding a teddy bear to look like a scarecrow for the top of the cake. I want to pipe on pumpkins, wheat stalks, ect..  It should turn out cute. It will be interesting to see how much the cake sells for!!! My last cake for the week is for a nursing home resident. I don’t know yet what I want to make. My last 2 cakes to them were not up to my standards. I was sick, just some of the Sarcoidosis complications. I had went to the ER the night before, so I was wiped out. I made just 2, 9-inch round cakes. One was white and pink the other was all chocolate. I know they tasted good, so I guess that’s what really counted the most. I did get a thank you card from the pink and white cake, the lady said the resident just loved it! I want to make something really pretty for the Saturday cake. Maybe something with roses since I LOVE to make roses!!!

Well I better go for now, I need to get the cake done and work on some other recipes. Keep checking back I’ll be posting a Christmas menu that I made for some friends several years ago. It is a little different, I know Christmas is far away yet, but it’s never to early in my mind to plan for it!!!

Until next time..

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2010 in Baking & Cooking with Honey

 

Leave a Reply

 
