RSS

Shrimp Mousse

29 Sep

Hello Everyone,

Here is the first recipe for a Christmas, Thanksgiving, or New Years menu. I first made this menu when I was 20, it was for some friends of my parents as a gift to them. I did get this menu published in our local newspaper a few years ago! Another funny story about this recipe also. A couple of years ago my mom saw this and wanted to make it, I thought that was great! My mom and step-dad had come back from AR with some fresh shrimp that they kept in dry ice driving all the way back from there.  I had come up with a menu for Christmas to go along with this. Well Christmas day came and we all went to a relatives house for dinner. My mom brought in this 9-inch square pan of something kinda gray and white looking. It did not resemble the one I had made several years ago. I thought well I’ll try it and see. Well it had an odd, off sweet taste to it,  not good at all. I asked her what did you put in this??? Well the recipe calls for heavy cream and instead of following the recipe she put non-dairy fat-free cool whip. Yep you read it right, cool whip with shrimp. Well needless to say we all didn’t eat it. I asked her WHY didn’t you follow the recipe?? She said well I can do what I want with the recipes given to me! Problem is when I make stuff and she tries making the same thing she always complains that it doesn’t taste like mine did. Well she will substitute thing’s that do not go well with recipes…  I have given up on giving her any recipes, because I know she won’t follow them… So here is the recipe, I hope you all enjoy it and please no cool whip! That stuff is nasty anyway!!!

 Shrimp Mousse:

12 oz, frozen cooked and peeled shrimp (2 cups) thawed and finely chopped

1/2 cup finely chopped celery

3 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp white wine

1 tsp. prepared horseradish

1 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 cup water

1 envelope unflavored gelatin, I use Knox.

1/2 cup heavy cream

4oz. (1/2 of and 8oz package) cream cheese, softened

1/3 cup mayonnaise

Avocado slices and crackers to serve with.

To marinate shrimp: combine shrimp, celery, lemon juice, wine, horseradish, pepper, and salt in a large bowl. Cover and refrigerate 8 hours or overnight. In a small saucepan, soften gelatin in water. Place over low heat, stirring until gelatin is dissolved. Remove from heat, cool to room temperature. In a large bowl, beat cream until stiff. Stir in gelatin mixture, cream cheese, mayonnaise, and shrimp mixture. Pour into a greased 8-inch-diameter ring mold. Stirring occasionally, chill until mixture begins to set; chill until firm. To unmold, dip mold into hot water up to rim and invert onto a serving plate. Serve with avocado slices and crackers.

Well until next time and with five more recipes to come this week!!!

Amanda 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2010 in Christmas Menus

 

3 responses to “Shrimp Mousse

  1. cakebaker35

    October 1, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
