RSS

Danish Pastries

04 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is a recipe I made for Ray’s office Christmas party last year, they are fantastic! The recipe comes from a cookbook I have had for a long time. It’s called “The Spirit Of Christmas Cookbook”. I love the recipes in this book, they are easy and don’t require a lot of weird hard to find ingredient’s. It was published in 1996. I bought the book just after I was married to my first husband. I was working a lot and felt I deserved a nice cookbook for Christmas, so I bought it!!! While the marriage lasted only 1-1/2 years this cookbook has served me well. I have made so many of the recipes, that some of the pages have cooking splatter on them!!! Well here is the recipe, I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!!! 🙂

Cake:

1-1/2 cups unsalted butter, softened and divided

3 cups all-purpose flour

1/8 tsp. salt 

1/4 cup cold water

1 cup whole milk

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp. almond extract

3 large eggs

Glaze:

1-1/2 cups powdered sugar

2 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

1 tbsp. whole milk

2 tsp. vanilla extract

Topping:

1 cup sliced almonds, toasted

2 tbsp. powdered sugar

For cake, use a pastry blender or two knives to cut in 1 cup butter into 2 cups flour in a medium mixing bowl until mixture resembles coarse meal. Stir in salt and water to make a dough. Divide dough into eight equal portions. Pat out each portion of dough into a 3×4-inch oval on an ungreased baking sheet. Refrigerate until ready to use. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large heavy saucepan, combine remaining 1/2 cup butter and milk over medium heat. Bring to a boil. Add remaining 1 cup flour, sugar, and almond extract. Quickly stir until mixture forms a ball; remove from heat. By hand, beat in eggs, one at a time, until well blended. Spread a thick layer of dough over chilled ovals. Bake 40-45 minutes ou until puffy and golden. For glaze, combine powdered sugar with butter in a small bowl; stir until well blended. Stir in milk and vanilla until mixture is smooth. For topping, combine almonds and powdered sugar in a small bowl. Spread glaze evenly over warm pastries. Sprinkle each pastry with topping. Serve warm or at room temperature. Yield 8 pastries.

I have 2 Angel cakes this week, for the mentally challenged group we make cakes for. I really enjoy making cakes for this group, the Birthday people just love to get the cakes they get so excited!!! The first one is for Wednesday and I talked to a person in charge there about what kind of cake this young man would like. The lady at first kinda laughed and said well he likes man purses, bags ect… I don’t even know what a man purse looks like! Then she said he like balls to, so I am going to make him a ball. Not only will it be easier, it will be umm less weird for me I guess.. LOL!!! 🙂 The other one is for Friday and he likes rock and roll music, so I thought about making a guitar cake. I think I made this young man’s cake last year, I’ll have to go through my pictures to find out. I don’t want to make him the same cake, if he is the same person. I’m sure he would like something different. Who know’s he might like the same one I did last year!!!

I have a Dr. appt today, with my lung Dr. I hope she has good news for me. I would like to reduce the amount of steroids I am on… We’ll just have to wait and see. I did find out last week that I have cysts on my ovaries and I might have to have surgery, ick.. They are running a blood test on me also to make sure I don’t have cancer either.. Ovarian cancer is scary, I already have had to many other things, I hope I don’t have this.. The Dr. can’t do any surgery until I am off the steroids and the blood thinners. So, it’s just a waiting game right now.. So many thing’s going on now. I am still having a lot of trouble with my family, I said some things to them and then my mom did and said some thing’s and well it’s all a big mess. They are mad at me, and that’s fine, I’ll just have to let them cool off for a while. All I can do is pray for them and ask the Lord to give me wisdom and patience in talking with them. We all said and done things we shouldn’t have to each other. It’s always the ones we love the most we hurt the most. Hopefully in time thing’s will get better, but for now I’m just going to have to stay away from them. I can’t think of anything else to do. I am to sick to deal with all the stress. The steroids make me so very sensitive that I hate it… I take thing’s the wrong way and get hurt and stew over some of the most dumb thing’s.

Well this is enough for me today…

Until next time.. 🙂

Amanda..

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2010 in Pastry

 

2 responses to “Danish Pastries

  1. bet365 italia

    October 6, 2010 at 7:45 am

    how are you!This was a really magnificentsuper post!
    I come from milan, I was luck to look for your Topics in yahoo
    Also I learn much in your blog really thank your very much i will come later

     
  2. cakebaker35

    October 6, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
