RSS

Sweet Potato Pie with Rum Cream

06 Oct

Hello Everyone,

I made this pie last year for Christmas,  but it would be great for any of the holidays coming up!

Sweet Potato Pie with Rum Cream

1 can (16oz.) sweet potatoes, drained and purred*** NOTE BELOW

1/3 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

3 large eggs

1/4 tsp. salt

1 hup half and half

1/4 cup molasses

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

Pie Crust:

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. granulated sugar

6 tbsp. cold unsalted butter

3-4 tbsp. cold water

Rum Cream:

2/3 cup heavy whipping cream

3 tbsp. powdered sugar

1 tsp. rum, you can try brandy or cognac also.

1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  For crust, combine flour and sugar in a mixing bowl. Using a pastry blender or two knives, cut butter into flour mixture until mixture resembles coarse meal. Stir in enough water to form a stiff dough. Wrap dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 1 hour. Remove form refrigerator and let stand at room temperature 15 minutes. On a lightly floured surface, use a floured rolling-pin to roll out dough into a 13-inch circle. Drape dough over rolling-pin and transfer to a 9-inch pie pan. Press dough into pan. Trim dough around edges of pan. If desired, us a small cookie cutter to cut shapes from dough scraps; place cutouts around edge of pie. I like to use leaf cookie cutters for the edges. For filling, in a large mixing bowl, combine sweet potatoes, brown sugar, eggs, and salt; beat well. Stir in half and half, molasses, cinnamon, and ginger. Pour into prepared pie crust. Bake for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 and bake for 30 minutes or until filling is set and puffy. Allow pie to cool completely. For rum cream, combine all ingredient’s in a large mixing bowl. Beat at high-speed until mixture holds it’s shape, spread over cooled pie. NOTE: about the sweet potatoes, I had to buy a large can of them, I think it was a 29 oz. can. If that’s all you can find just weigh the drained sweet potatoes to get the 16oz. needed. You can also cook some fresh sweet potatoes and use those instead, in fact they would taste better!!!

I almost have the cake done for tomorrow, I decided to make a ball cake. I am going to get up early in the morning and get it done. I am too tired tonight.. I am going to bake 2 more cakes tomorrow. I decided to make an electric guitar for the young man who likes rock and roll. I took another cake today to deliver Saturday for a 3-year-old foster girl, she wanted Dora or Spongebob. I decided to make a Dora cake for her. I have made Spongebob several times a few for my brother’s Birthday and other times, I don’t want to make it for a while. It will be a long drive for us Saturday, the town she lives in is about 30 miles from us. It will be nice to go for a drive, I haven’t been to this small town for a while.

I had my Dr. appt and blood work today instead of yesterday. For some reason I was thinking it was yesterday. It’s a good thing Ray called me before I left the house. This Dr. is about 1/2 hour drive from our house! Ray came with me, and the Dr. reduced my steroids down to 30 mg. a day, and is taking me off the blood thinners!! Yes I am happy about that one!! The blood thinners were causing me a lot of complications. Please pray that I don’t get anymore blood clots, otherwise I have to stay on them for the rest of my life, however long that may be. I must have another lung CT Friday and I don’t know anything about the blood test yet my womans Dr wanted. They took blood for it today. I hate waiting for results like this. Please pray that I don’t have cancer again. If  I do, they will have to give me chemo, because of my thyroid cancer last year..

Well until next time everyone, have a great day!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 6, 2010 in Pie

 

Leave a Reply

 
