RSS

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

07 Oct

Hello Everyone,

I thought I would post one of my favorite cake recipes. It starts with my Betty Crocker cookbook. It’s simple, but oh so tasty carrot cake. I have added a few thing’s to it to make it even better. My family loves it! I make it a lot!!!

Carrot Cake:

1-1/2 cups granulated sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

3 large eggs

2 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/4 tsp. ground cloves

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. salt

3 cups shredded carrots (5 medium)

1 cup chopped pecans, toasted

1 cup golden raisins

1 (20 oz.) can pineapple chunks, drained*** I use only use the Dole brand, other brands I have found pineapple skin in the cans!!

First toast the pecans on a baking sheet at 350 degrees for about 10-12 minutes watch them closely so they don’t burn, or on your stove top; set aside to cool. In a microwave-safe bowl cover raisins with water and cook for 5 minutes; drain and set aside. In a food processor, pulse the pineapple chunks until not pureed but chopped well; drain well. I know it would be easier to use crushed pineapple,  but I found the recipe worked better this way, I liked the texture of the cake better. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the sugar, oil, eggs, spices, baking soda, vanilla, and salt. Add in the flour. Fold in the carrots, nuts, raisins, and pineapple. Grease and flour 2 9-inch round cake pans or 9×13-inch cake pan. Bake cake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool completely before filling and frosting the cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting:

4-1/2 cups sifted powdered sugar, I only use C&H, other off brands have sugar crystals that do not dissolve properly in frosting.

1 (8oz.) package Philadelphia cream cheese, softened, I only use this brand, other off brands have water in them and will make the frosting runny.

1 stick unsalted butter (4oz.), softened

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt.

Mix all ingredients together until smooth. Fill and frost cake. I like to add chopped toasted pecans to the side of the cake, and around the top edge.

I baked the cakes today for the young man who like rock and roll and for the foster girl. I put the Dora cake in the freezer and I’ll decorate it Friday. Tomorrow I need to get the rock and roll cake done. I think it is the same young man I made a cake for last year, but I could be wrong! I’ll just need to decorate it differently than the one last year, different colors ect… Today  I was contacted by one of the ladies from Angel Cakes and I am making the National Adoption Day cake for November 1st. It has to be a sheet cake enough to feed 75 people! Wow that’s a lot more than last year! My mom made the cake last your for this event, I can’t remember what I was doing at the time… It will be held at the Idaho Supreme Court building in downtown Boise this year. The last 2 years it was in just the courthouse in my area of town. I haven’t been to this building yet,  I am so excited about this!!! I’ll need to make an 11×18 sheet cake and I’ll make anywhere from 30-40 cupcakes, just to make sure we have enough.

I haven’t heard about any of my tests yet, it’s still to early I guess.. Friday I have the lung CT in the afternoon. Boy I am so tired of gets poked with needles and getting scans ect.. One of the lab techs last week (that draws a lot of blood from me) mentioned that, you know your here way to much! I laughed and said I know, they should give me frequent flyer miles!!! LOL!!

Well until next time everyone!!!

Amanda 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2010 in Cakes

 

4 responses to “Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Medifast Coupons

    October 7, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Thanks for the carrot cake recipe, have been looking around all morning for a recipe. A few I have found didn’t have the added bonus of the pineapple, look forward to making this afternoon. Baking for Thanksgiving this weekend for the family.

     
    • cakebaker35

      October 7, 2010 at 4:52 pm

      Your welcome! Let me know how it turned out for you!

       
  2. Medifast Coupons

    October 9, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    I made this afternoon, looks and smells wonderful, the whole house smelt great. Serving tomorrow for Thanksgiving dinner.

     
    • cakebaker35

      October 9, 2010 at 10:43 pm

      I’m happy you like it!! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
