RSS

Coconut Cream Fudge Cake

08 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is a cake that I made a couple of years ago. Its from a Soft as Silk publication that came out in 2001. It’s called Winning State Fair Cakes. The recipe is by Jone Schumacher, from Chopin, IL. I have made it twice, once for my birthday and one time for Ronald McDonald House. Enjoy!

2 cups Softasilk cake flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 cup coconut milk (not cream of coconut) 

3/4 cup buttermilk

1 tsp. coconut extract

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 cup unsalted butter, (1 stick) 4oz. softened

4oz. melted unsweetened chocolate

2 laarge eggs

Coconut Cream Filling:

2/3 cup shortening

2 tbsp. softasilk flour

2 tsp. coconut extract

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tbsp. coconut milk (not cream of coconut)

2 cups powdered sugar

1 jar (7oz.) marshmallow creame

Chocolate Frosting:

1/4 cup unsalted butter, (1/2 stick) 4oz. softened

2 oz. melted unsweetened chocolate

4 cups powdered sugar, sifted

1/4 cup coconut milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. coconut extract

For cake: Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 2, 9-inch round cake pans. Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; set aside. Mix coconut milk, buttermilk, coconut extract, and vanilla; set aside. Beat butter, sugar, melted chocolate and eggs in a large mixing bowl on medium speed scraping bowl as needed, until fluffy. I use my Kitchenaide for everything. Beat in flour mixture, alternately with milk mixture, beating after each addition until smooth. Pour into pans. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.

For Filling: Beat shortening, flour, coconut extract, vanilla and coconut milk in medium bowl on medium speed until blended. Gradually beat in powdered sugar, scraping bowl as needed until smooth. Beat in marshmallow cream.

Chocolate Frosting: Beat butter and chocolate together until blended. Gradually beat in remaining ingredient’s until smooth.

Cut cake layers in half and fill with coconut cream filling. Frost top and sides with chocolate frosting, garnish with chopped chocolate and coconut. Here is a picture of the cake I made.

I am finishing up the guitar cake tonight and tomorrow finish up the Dora cake. I was looking through my Wilton colors and ack!! I need to buy some tomorrow!! No surprise considering how many cakes I make! LOL!! I should buy stock in Wilton!! I still haven’t heard anything about my test, I am in agony waiting like this… I’m having a hard time sleeping.. I spent all day today volunteering for the University of Idaho phone help, and didn’t get one phone call!! No one needed any help I guess, the secretary said that they had been busy all week, but today was slooowww!!

Well until next time everyone..

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 8, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
