RSS

Raisin-Filled Spice Cake

09 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is another cake recipe from the State Fair Winning Cakes book. It’s from Laura McReynolds, from Hutchinson, KS. I entered this cake in my local county fair a few years ago and won Grand Champion!

1-1/2 cups Softasilk cake flour

3-1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp.  ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/8 tsp. ground cloves

1/8 tsp. ground allspice

1/8 tsp. ground ginger, this is my addition to the recipe.

3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, 6oz. softened

1-2/3 cups packed light brown sugar

3 large eggs, at room temperature

1 cup sour cream, this is my addition also.

Raisin Filling:

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup chopped golden raisins

1 cup sour cream

1/2 tsp. salt

Vanilla Butter Frosting:

1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened

3 cups powdered sugar, sifted

1-1/2 tsp. vanilla

1-2 tbsp. cinnamon flavored coffee creamer

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 2, 9-inch round cake pans. Mix flour, baking powder, salt, and spices; set aside. Beat butter and brown sugar together until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, until blended. Beat in flour mixture alternately with sour cream. Pour batter into prepared cake pans and bake for 25-30 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.

For Filling: Heat all ingredients to boiling in a 2-quart saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly; reduce heat. Simmer 10 minutes, stirring constantly. Cool completely.

For Frosting: Beat all together until smooth and spreadable.

To assemble cake: Place one layer on cake plate, and fill with raisin filling. You’ll have extra filling, what I did was put the rest on top of the cake after I frosted it. Frost top and sides with frosting, and press chopped toasted walnuts around the side of cake then mound the rest of filling in top of cake. Here is a picture of the one I made for the fair. I didn’t top this cake with the extra filling, I just ate it. The second time I made the cake, I didn’t take a picture to show everyone. I made it for an Angel Cakes meeting we had last year…

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=1156722008059&set=a.1156706207664.2021821.1528013904

Still haven’t heard anything about the cancer test yet… I had the lung CT today and won’t hear anything of course until next week. I delivered the guitar cake today and didn’t get to meet the Birthday person. Tonight I need to finish up the Dora cake and then tomorrow Ray and I are driving to Emmet to deliver it. It will be a nice drive out there. I want to get away from the house!!!

Well until next time everyone!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 9, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
