RSS

Chocolate Cream Cheese Brownie Cake

11 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is another cake recipe from the same State Fair Winning cakes book. I made this a long time ago and it’s really good cake. It’s from Lisa Findlay from Chubbick, Idaho. I found it funny that in the book the spelled it Chibbuck instead of Chubbick, there isn’t a Chibbick, Idaho! LOL!! 🙂

Chocolate Cream Cheese Brownie Cake:

For the cake:

3/4 cup water

1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/3 cup shortening

3 tbsp. baking cocoa

1-1/2 cups Softasilk cake flour

1-1/2 cups granulated sugar

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

2/3 cup sour cream

2 large eggs

1 tsp.vanilla

Crease Cheese Filling:

1/4 cup unsalted butter

3 oz. cream cheese, softened

2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 tsp.vanilla

Chocolate Frosting:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

2 cups powdered sugar

2 tbsp. baking cocoa

3 tbsp. whole milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 2, 9-inch round cake pans. Heat water, butter, shortening, and cocoa in a 1-quart saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until smooth; remove from heat. Cool to room temperature. Mix flour, sugar, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Beat in cocoa mixture on low-speed until smooth. Beat in sour cream, eggs, and vanilla, pour into pans. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.  Beat all cream cheese filling ingredients together until smooth. Beat all frosting ingredient’s together until smooth. To assemble cake, place one cake layer on cake plate, spread with cream cheese filling, top with 2nd cake layer. Frost top and sides with chocolate frosting. You can coat the sides with toasted chopped walnuts or pecans if you want. I don’t have a picture of this cake. I made it a couple of years ago and it was before I was really into taking food pictures. I took pictures of all my decorated cakes and fair stuff, just not everyday stuff I make. I am starting to do that more often it’s fun!! 🙂

I have to tell you all about a bad restaurant that Ray and I went to yesterday. We drove to Emmet yesterday and delivered the cake. The traffic was terrible! We forgot about a BSU game going on and with Monday being a holiday, that there were going to be a lot of people out. We were a half hour later than the time we said we would, be there to deliver the cake. The foster mom was going to meet us in town, but we said no we’ll just deliver the cake to wherever you are at since were so late. It all worked out fine in the end. We drove around Emmet and thought about trying a place to eat there, but I haven’t been feeling well all weekend. Sarcoid sides affects, stomach pain, ect.. Ray wanted to try this place in Sand Hollow. It’s just a hole in the wall with a gas station and cafe. It’s called Sand Hollow Country Store and Cafe, sounds cute right? Well it’s not, it was awful. First the outside needs cleaning up, there were flies everywhere, this didn’t sit well with me. I was taught to never judge a book by its cover so we thought we would look inside and just see. It’s ok inside just your typical greasy spoon diner kind of place, but inside was just as dirty as the outside. The floor needed cleaning and there were dead flies in the windows and buzzing all around. I didn’t even want to stay, but we were really far out and Ray still wanted to try it. Well Ray had shrimp and I had beef brisket and we both had a cup of  the cheddar potato soup, which was the only thing that tasted good to me. It’s good thing the crackers were already packaged that’s about all I could stomach. We kept having flies landing on our food and us. If  it’s like that in the diner I cringe to think about what the kitchen looks like!! Our waitress smelled like she had been living in cigarette smoke shack also. There were other people eating there too, like the flies were no big deal!! We told the waitress and the cashier that the fly issue was gross! All they said was yeah the flies are really bad this year! WHAT THE HELL are you thinking people!! Needless to say we will NEVER go back to this hell hole, and the health department is getting a call from me tomorrow! I did get sick to my stomach later, and I am not eating the leftovers we brought home. Ray is, he has an iron stomach and will eat anything leftover. I wish he wouldn’t, one of these days I’m afraid he’ll get food poisoning.

Well that’s all I have for today…

Until next time everyone!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 11, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
